problem while repairing windows xp pro - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-16-2006, 04:42 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
RockyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 893
Send a message via AIM to RockyZ
Default problem while repairing windows xp pro

Alright, I went to repair my windows xp because it had problems booting with a new set of ram because a file was missing and the screen suggested me to do a system repair. I know that you think I'm crazy for listening to Microsoft, but its too late to talk about that part now.

The repair was going well, I had everything installing, about 20 minutes into it, this error message comes up telling me this access point or something cannot be reached and I tried clicking the ok key, but the message keeps appearing. At this point I understand that I'm probably completely ****ed. SO i turned off comp. It boots back and tells me its gonna restart the repair.

So right now, I'm typing to you with my only working computer (obviously linux) and on my second attempt to repair. Do you guys have any idea how I can get my repair to finish.

Or maybe I should try with a legit Windows disk.
__________________

__________________

e6300@2.8GHZ
G. Skill 4GB(2x2GB) DDR800
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
super pi: 1m=20s
RockyZ is offline  
Old 04-16-2006, 04:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
RockyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 893
Send a message via AIM to RockyZ
Default

The exact message reads:

The prodcedure entry point GetIUMS could not be located in the dynamic link library MSDART.DLL

As you can tell, I'm obviously on my second attempt and it failed again, maybe I should start another repair?

It's kind of late right now, thanks in advance for the help guys!
__________________

__________________

e6300@2.8GHZ
G. Skill 4GB(2x2GB) DDR800
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
super pi: 1m=20s
RockyZ is offline  
Old 04-16-2006, 05:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

I have had this happen to me it goes away I promise Keep hit OK fast until it stops then the install will continue. I have had to click it more than 100 times for the install to continue then it installed fine..not sure why it does this.
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 04-16-2006, 03:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
RockyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 893
Send a message via AIM to RockyZ
Default

Thanks, I'll try that right now
__________________

e6300@2.8GHZ
G. Skill 4GB(2x2GB) DDR800
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
super pi: 1m=20s
RockyZ is offline  
Old 04-16-2006, 05:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
RockyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 893
Send a message via AIM to RockyZ
Default

It works, thanks alot!
__________________

e6300@2.8GHZ
G. Skill 4GB(2x2GB) DDR800
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
super pi: 1m=20s
RockyZ is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 12:26 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 18
Default

win2000
__________________

gaybillgates is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.