Problem w/HardDrive - Stop Errors - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-25-2006, 04:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 4
Default Problem w/HardDrive - Stop Errors

Well, I had this problem with my laptop like 6 months ago, and here we go again. Back then, I had the same problem. Well, I decided to retire the thing. However, just last week, I thought "why not try to fix it again". So I started it up, and it looked like it was loading Windows, but a black screen appeared. I hit my LCD/CRT button, and (by pure luck) the screen came on, just fine. Everything (every program, screen saver, background, etc.) was still there like nothing had happened. So, Im going about my business, using my laptop with no problems, and today I come into work (I leave it at work) and the Blue Screen of Death is on there, and I can hear the Hard Drive just a clicking away. A short click about every second. This was the message:

KERNEL_STACK_INPAGE_ERROR

If this is the first time.......

Stop: 0x00000077 (0xC00000E, )xC000000E, 0x0000000, 0x003E6000)

I restart it, and it looks like its going good, I enter my windows password, it starts loading, the clicking begins, and then the screen. Here is the second message:

KERNEL_STACK_INPAGE_ERROR

If this is ......

Stop: 0x0000007A (0xE17489B8, 0xC000000E, 0xBF8B0D81, 0x11756860)

win32k.sys - Address BF8B0D81 bas at BF800000, Date Stamp 3b7de698

I restart it again, enter my password, it loads, the clicking begins, but this time it just froze.

Thats what I got. What do you think?
__________________

jonnycack is offline  
Old 09-25-2006, 04:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 501
Default

Could have surface faults in it, have you thought about buyin' a new drive for it?
__________________

__Camouflage__ is offline  
Old 09-25-2006, 05:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 4
Default

The clicking had me wondering if I shouldnt just buy a new drive, I was just trying to do what I could to save $, and fix it if I could. Im sure it is a bad drive, so thanks for confirming that!
jonnycack is offline  
Old 09-25-2006, 07:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 501
Default

What kind of laptop is it? We can possibly help you find the cheapest harddrive for it. If you have to resort to buyin' a new one.
__Camouflage__ is offline  
Old 09-25-2006, 07:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 4
Default

gateway solo 1450 (about 3-4 years old) - Ran pretty good for the most part, and it has been abused (oops)
jonnycack is offline  
Old 09-25-2006, 07:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Oh, and I would want no more than a 40GB drive. I just do work stuff on there. Well, that and music, but 40 is big enough considering I had 20 on the last one, and still had 7 left to fill.
jonnycack is offline  
Old 09-25-2006, 08:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 501
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...ubCategory=380

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...p?Recs=10&Nav=|c:1277|&Sort=4

These prices are from Newegg.com and TigerDirect.com
__________________

__Camouflage__ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.