Problem starting WinXp from standby - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-18-2004, 02:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 34
Default Problem starting WinXp from standby

When I logoff I usually keep my system in standby. When I am ready to turn the machine back on, I usually (and this may be wrond) touch any key on the keyboard or the mouse and 1 of 2 things will happen..either the machine will start up again no problem or it will make this buzzing sound like I've done something wrong and then I have to manually power the machine off and turn it back on..what is the problem with me leaving the machine in standby mode?
__________________

cocoa is offline  
Old 07-19-2004, 11:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 500
Default

Well seeing as you havent provided much insight into the Hardware aspects of your machine,, I will try and work in virtual terms...

The problem with Standby is that XP takes a "snapshot" of everything that you had going,, and saves this snapshot in RAM and HD memory.

When you come back and hit a key,, any key,, pick a key,,, you start up the wake process, if your machine is lower end in HD space, RAM, or processor power,, Standby will give you a headache.

My suggestion would be to either a) lock the PC using CTL-ALT-DEL , this will maintain your pc in the present state
or,
Logoff completely.

I have a feeling that there is a patch for Standby, however, I personally disable that feature on the bulk of XP machines due to the problems as you have stated,,

cheers,
__________________

__________________
Crash Abbott
MCSE, MCP+I, A+

\"You\'re the Disease, and I\'m the Cure!\"
CrashAbbott is offline  
Old 07-19-2004, 06:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default Re: Problem starting WinXp from standby

Quote:
Originally posted by cocoa
what is the problem with me leaving the machine in standby mode?
Cocoa, Stand-by and Hibernation modes are designed to be used only on Laptop computers - NOT desktop.
Lone Wolf is offline  
Old 07-20-2004, 12:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 34
Default

Lone Wolf, I didn't know that...hmmm, ok, guess I will do ctrl + alt + delete
cocoa is offline  
Old 07-20-2004, 01:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by cocoa
Lone Wolf, I didn't know that...hmmm, ok, guess I will do ctrl + alt + delete
The reason for that is that those power management features are designed to cut down on the batter power consumption. Since desktops don't have a battery, it does not apply to a desktop.

For my PC at home, I like to use the power management feature to have everything fully on except for the monitor (which is set to go off after 30 mins of inactivity).
Lone Wolf is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.