Problem sometimes when starting Win2000Pro - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-19-2003, 04:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 38
Send a message via ICQ to I)arkTemplar
Unhappy Problem sometimes when starting Win2000Pro

Hey everyone,
I'm new to this forum, but about 1/2 or 1/3 of the time when I start my computer, when Win2000 Pro is loading on the 'clouds' screen with a big Windows logo and the loading bar, it freezes.
I have no idea what is wrong, it is starting to get annoying though. If anyone could help me then thank you in advance!
-DT
by the way xmas holidays just started!!
__________________

I)arkTemplar is offline  
Old 12-19-2003, 11:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 189
Send a message via ICQ to RoyalW Send a message via AIM to RoyalW Send a message via Yahoo to RoyalW
Default

You sure you got Windows 2000?
Or is it 9x?

- Try booting in Safe-Mode and see the difference in time to boot.
If significant, use msconfig (in safe-mode) to uncheck all unnessecary programs from starting up and see how it goes.
Hopefully when in msconfig you'll spot a potential culprit (spyware/adware or virus)
__________________

__________________
Windows XP Pro 2002 (SP2)

Intel Northwood 2.4GHz
Compaq Evo D510 SFF
768MB DDR PC2100
NVIDIA TNT2 32MB
Intel 82801 (AC\'97)
C: 40GB (FAT32)
RoyalW is offline  
Old 12-20-2003, 12:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 38
Send a message via ICQ to I)arkTemplar
Default

Aww, two problems..
1. My bad , it wasn't a screen with clouds, it was just a blank screen (I guess I have a horrible memory) with a Windows logo and some coloured borders of squares. On the bottom of that screen, its grayish and has a blue loading bar that has stuff like |||||||||||| not just fully filled.
2. I tried Safe-Mode, the significance was HUGE, it took forever, and the screen I talked about didn't appear at all. I used 'Run' and typed in msconfig, and it said there was no such thing or something like that.
I)arkTemplar is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.