a problem with some AVI/MPEG files - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-13-2004, 07:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1
Unhappy a problem with some AVI/MPEG files

hi everyone
i have a problem with some AVI files ( or maybe MPEG )
some of them don't work right
for example if the flie length is 5 minuts the bar shows as if it is 1:01 for example ... and in the properties it appears as 1:01 too
so the movie leangth bar underneath just goes when 1:01 is being the end of the leangth bar ( when it supossed to be 5 minuts for example ) so it goes till the end and then the movie keeps on playing but the marker is in the end of the bar and the movie doesn't work very good too ( has jumps and freezings )
does anybody know how to fix this ???????????
please help !!!!
__________________

sliz is offline  
Old 03-13-2004, 10:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
m3z
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 81
Send a message via Yahoo to m3z
Default

Are these your movies or are they clips that you have downloaded? And what are you using to view them in?
__________________

__________________
Motherboard:Gigabyte GA-8KNXP SATA 8X/4X AGP PRO
Processor:Pentium 4 3.4
Video: NVidia TNT2 RIVA, Sound Blaster Live
Ram: 4 gig of Kingston DDR Ram (3200)
Hard Drive:maxtor x2 120 gig ATA133 w/ 8meg buffer
m3z is offline  
Old 03-13-2004, 09:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 218
Default

Make sure it is a complete video file and download ace mega codecs pack - it should take care of all fixable problems.
__________________
_________________________
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ @3.0 Ghz
Asus A7N8X-E DELUXE
Thermaltake Highest Xaser III (7 80mm case fans)
BFG 6800 ULTRA OC
MGE XG Vortec 600W Power Supply
1G Corsair XMS PC-3200
2 x 120 Gig 7200RPM
Logitech 5.1 - Z640 Speakers
Thermaltake BigWater Liquid Cooling System
ViewSonic VP201b 20.5\" LCD (16 ms refresh rate)
Stupid is offline  
Old 03-14-2004, 03:46 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 51
Default

get gspot codec appliance, it will tell you what video ( and audio) codecs an avi or mpg2 are encoded with.

It also displays what codec your computer is trying to use for playback.

See if you have what you need, often it is not simply a matter of not having the proper codec. It is not uncommon for there to be a conflict between codecs, or simply a matter of having an outdated version of a codec (Xvid being one of the worst at this).

for gspot go to http://www.headbands.com/gspot/download.html
Vladd44 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.