Problem posting site created by MS Publisher - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-04-2003, 09:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1
Angry Problem posting site created by MS Publisher

I designed a four page website using MS Publisher, but when I try to view it after uploading, it never looks right. Here are some details, perhaps you can help me: I created the site and named it index.pub. Then saved it as a web page and then had index.html with a new sub folder called index_files that contained all the image files, filelist.xml, page001.html-page004.html and pubmaster001.html. I then uploaded all the files to my space on yahoo. I then entered my URL - http://www.geocities.com/bily12c/
and found a homepage that looked all screwed up and had faulty links. What did I do wrong? Any advice is truly appreciated. My email is wcohan@aol.com. Feel free to enter my URL and view the source code. Thanks!
William Cohan
__________________

wcohan is offline  
Old 11-04-2003, 10:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

holy crap, your source code is extremely bloated 178K. this is why i never tried to learn publisher. when i try to edit your page, i searched the image filenames and i can't even figure out where to start. to make a site that simple i think you should use frontpage instead; less overhead and easier to maintain a site.
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Old 11-04-2003, 11:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Yes, I agree. Although there are so many more HTML publishing programs out there to take advantage of to get rid of the overhead....If you want to stick with MS products then create with FrontPage instead of Publisher. Publisher is essentially FrontPage on high-quality Baltimore crack.

-Michael
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 11-05-2003, 12:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I've created 1 website with Powerpoint but i had no idea you could create a site with Publisher, try and load everything you have to PPT and see what happens
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-05-2003, 12:38 AM   #5 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

PowerPoint?
You have got to be kidding right?

-Michael
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 11-05-2003, 02:32 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

****e, hang on its frontpage that i was using!!!
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.