Problem with Itunes - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-22-2008, 08:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 228
Default Problem with Itunes

Hey, i have a small problem with Itunes. When i search through my 400++ songs (scroll up & down) it lags a little, anyone know why? on my friends computer he has 1023 songs and when he scrolls up and down it doesnt lag...


Its not a big problem just wondering if anyone knew what was up.


Also Does anyone know another program other than "itunes". Something that is for MP3's. Some kind of music library. Other than windows media player Itunes and winamp. im looking for a different music player anyone have any thoughts?
__________________

xXxexpertxXx is offline  
Old 02-22-2008, 09:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Problem with Itunes

There is Zune software, Anapod explorer among others. There are quite a lot of Media Players. It jsut depends on yoru preference.

The iTunes thing can be linked to lower system specs than your friend. What are the system specs?
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-22-2008, 09:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
MetalOwns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franklin, WI
Posts: 432
Send a message via AIM to MetalOwns
Default Re: Problem with Itunes

Does it only do that when you use the view that has the album art displayed next to the songs? I think my computer does that too when the album art is displayed. I don't use iTunes anymore though. I think it's because it's loading the artwork.
__________________
SYSTEM:
RAIDMAX SMILODON Case
LANPARTY DK P35-T2RS
Intel Core2Duo E6600 (2.40) @ OC'ing
2 gigs G.Skill DDR2 800 RAM @ OC'ing
2x 320 Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (RAID 0)
EVGA Ge-Force 7900 GS KO @ 710/985 @ 1.48v/2.20v
LITE-ON 20x DVD+/-R Burner/12x DVD-RAM w/ LightScribe
LITE-ON 48x CD Burner/16x DVD-ROM
Hanns∑G 19" Widescreen LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition
MetalOwns is offline  
Old 02-22-2008, 09:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Problem with Itunes

Could be. But my Zune nor my WMP slows down at all while loading Album Art. I dont use iTunes at all so i wouldnt know really on that end. Jsut taking a shot in the dark on that.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-22-2008, 10:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 228
Default Re: Problem with Itunes

Quote:
Originally Posted by MetalOwns View Post
Does it only do that when you use the view that has the album art displayed next to the songs? I think my computer does that too when the album art is displayed. I don't use iTunes anymore though. I think it's because it's loading the artwork.
well havnt you seen my computer specs?

it was that big thing in my Sig! lol

ram = 4 gigs
HD = 2 (500 gigs)
Speed = 3.66

Clearley, my computer isnt the problem! ill try
Quote:
Originally Posted by MetalOwns View Post
Does it only do that when you use the view that has the album art displayed next to the songs? I think my computer does that too when the album art is displayed. I don't use iTunes anymore though. I think it's because it's loading the artwork.
well havnt you seen my computer specs?

it was that big thing in my Sig! lol

ram = 4 gigs
HD = 2 (500 gigs)
Speed = 3.66

Clearley, my computer isnt the problem! ill try Zune
xXxexpertxXx is offline  
Old 02-22-2008, 10:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Problem with Itunes

Umm you dont have a sig. that is why i asked. Are you using 32 Bit or 64 Bit?
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-22-2008, 10:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 228
Default Re: Problem with Itunes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
Umm you dont have a sig. that is why i asked. Are you using 32 Bit or 64 Bit?



32 bit
xXxexpertxXx is offline  
Old 02-22-2008, 10:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
MetalOwns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franklin, WI
Posts: 432
Send a message via AIM to MetalOwns
Default Re: Problem with Itunes

Yeah, what sig?

Apparently, this is a pretty widespread problem on Windows, and it's because of the programming. iTunes will take a dual core processor up to around 55% usage just to scroll a list.

My advice, dump iTunes like I did.

EDIT: You know you won't be able to use all 4 gigs of that RAM with a 32 bit OS right?
__________________
SYSTEM:
RAIDMAX SMILODON Case
LANPARTY DK P35-T2RS
Intel Core2Duo E6600 (2.40) @ OC'ing
2 gigs G.Skill DDR2 800 RAM @ OC'ing
2x 320 Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (RAID 0)
EVGA Ge-Force 7900 GS KO @ 710/985 @ 1.48v/2.20v
LITE-ON 20x DVD+/-R Burner/12x DVD-RAM w/ LightScribe
LITE-ON 48x CD Burner/16x DVD-ROM
Hanns∑G 19" Widescreen LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition
MetalOwns is offline  
Old 02-22-2008, 10:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Problem with Itunes

I install itunes because I was trying to get more album art for my ipod because I got a new car radio that would display it. the new version (7) won't let you import playists. Itunes you know where you can go.
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 02-22-2008, 10:43 PM   #10 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Problem with Itunes

Yes iTunes is a bad port of the Apple software to Windows. Just like Safari is a poor port from OS X to Windows as well.

Personally i would suggest Anapod. As Metal says. You can not fully use the 4GB of RAM. It is a limitation of all 32 Bit OS's.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple Itunes Install Problem leonardmp92 Microsoft Windows and Software 20 01-06-2008 08:40 AM
iTunes problem DarkMassacre Microsoft Windows and Software 1 07-20-2007 09:31 AM
iTunes Now Offering DRM-Free Music Tracks for $1.29 maroon1 Computer Audio and Multimedia 1 05-30-2007 01:49 PM
Apple Releases iTunes 7.2 Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 05-30-2007 10:37 AM
Vista + iTunes + The mysterious CD problem mBernhardt Microsoft Windows and Software 4 05-04-2007 12:54 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.