Problem with Internet cookies - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-11-2004, 12:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 548
Send a message via AIM to aye29 Send a message via Yahoo to aye29
Default Problem with Internet cookies

I've recently started getting error messages from some webpages that require cookies. It says that the page cannot be loaded because my browser is rejecting cookies even though I check in my browser setting and it is set to accept cookies.

For example, I cannot view categories of product at www.bestbuy.com and I cannot sign-up for AIM screen names because of this error. However not all sites that need cookies give me errors. I can still sign on to Yahoo mail even though that requires cookies.

I've tried using both Mozilla 1.6 and IE6 and both give me the same errors on the same pages.
Does anybody know how to fix this?

Thanks
__________________

aye29 is offline  
Old 03-11-2004, 12:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 118
Question

This doesn't add up.Don't you get an option to sign in and remember me.Are you deleting all your cookies,instead of the bad guys ?
__________________

bluto is offline  
Old 03-11-2004, 12:46 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 548
Send a message via AIM to aye29 Send a message via Yahoo to aye29
Default Re: Problem with Internet cookies

Quote:
Originally posted by aye29
I cannot sign-up for AIM screen names because of this error. However not all sites that need cookies give me errors. I can still sign on to Yahoo mail even though that requires cookies.
I guess I should have said when I try to register a new AIM screen name here (http://dynamic.aol.com/cgi/redir?htt...=Aim&client=no) I get redirected to a page telling me that my cookies are disabled even though thats not true. Same message when I try to view product categories at www.bestbuy.com.

With Yahoo, I can log in and check my mail just fine. I only mention that because logging to Yahoo requres cookies also but that site seem to work for me with no cookie errors.
aye29 is offline  
Old 03-11-2004, 01:02 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 118
Default

Are you useing a pop up stopper ?
bluto is offline  
Old 03-11-2004, 01:06 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 548
Send a message via AIM to aye29 Send a message via Yahoo to aye29
Default

Only the one in the Google toolbar and the built-in pop-up blocker on Mozilla. I try disabling it in both browsers and I still get the error.
aye29 is offline  
Old 03-11-2004, 01:12 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 118
Default

Thats the problem i think,sometimes you need a popup.
So try browsing without or try pop-up-stopper.It gives you a choice.
bluto is offline  
Old 03-11-2004, 01:16 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 548
Send a message via AIM to aye29 Send a message via Yahoo to aye29
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by aye29
I try disabling it in both browsers and I still get the error.
I tried disabling it and it still does not work. And I'm pretty sure its not the pop-up blocker thats causing the problem beacuse I've been to the sites before and pages I want are not pop-ups.
aye29 is offline  
Old 03-11-2004, 01:21 AM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 118
Default sites

Quote:
Originally posted by aye29
I tried disabling it and it still does not work. And I'm pretty sure its not the pop-up blocker thats causing the problem beacuse I've been to the sites before and pages I want are not pop-ups.
Send me some urls then i will send my results.

bluto is offline  
Old 03-11-2004, 01:25 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 548
Send a message via AIM to aye29 Send a message via Yahoo to aye29
Default

AIM Screen Name Registration:
http://dynamic.aol.com/cgi/redir?<a ...&client=no</a>

Best Buy Product Categories:
http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage....&type=category

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage....&type=category

These are the sites I have problems with (so far).
aye29 is offline  
Old 03-11-2004, 01:31 AM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 118
Lightbulb

What do you want to buy,are you a member ?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg conflicts.jpg (73.4 KB, 40 views)
__________________

bluto is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.