Problem installing XP - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-30-2003, 02:10 PM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937

great, i screwed up another cd-rom problem. i'll just have to keep plugging in that memory tip and eventually it will help someone. it also helps if i read the problem and actually think about it, sorry.

have you tried using another cd-rom drive from another machine? even if it boots ok with linux it may be a different story with windows. it could be as simple as that

ekÆsine is offline  
Old 09-30-2003, 09:16 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 30

Here's my story: One of my Xp CDs wouldnt boot and the other one were missing files, so I used to install the bootable bad one, then install the non-bootable good one (getting confused). Anyways, you can't use a 98 or ME floppy. But I found in Kazaa a little exe that creates a set of 6 floppies with the beggining of the XP installation, then asks you for the CD. It's made by Microsoft, but I don't know if you are supposed to buy it. Another option is install 98, then upgrade to XP.

cosmosis is offline  
Old 10-22-2003, 08:04 AM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 94

XP BOOT Problem also. Can't boot Win XP Pro from cd or dvd. Hard drive(C)is Primary Master, then CDRW(D) is Secondary Master, and DVD(E) is Secondary Slave. Setup is ok. Boot order is right, (cd first). I have already reinstalled XP un-successfully, and have no alternative but format because of old program folders still being present. Any way, never mind that - I did notice that in the hardware properties of each of the drives, the locations are as follows:-

Hard Drive(C) is location 0 (0)
CDRW(D) is 0(0)
DVD(E), is location 1(1)...
Surely CDRW and Hard drive should have different locations.
I really need to get this t'ing formatted. I have an XP start disc, but don't know the Prompt - and if i did format without sorting this out, would i be able to install xp, bearing in mind the boot problem.
When windows is running, and i insert xp disc, it auto - runs normally, but obviously won't let me format a drive that's in use. Pleeze 'elp!
My system is Running AMI Bios with:
XP Proffessional
K7S5A M/board - (no oboard modem or network card)
Maxtor 40 GB H/drive
512 MB / SD Ram / 133mhz
Neto Dragon 56kb Modem
Nividia Riva TNT2 M64 / 32 MB Graphics Card
Blo is offline  
Old 10-24-2003, 05:22 AM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 99

ur jumper settings for HDD and CDRW, Bio.

For those who installed XP with issues like files missing. Its partly due to the quality of the CD-Rs used as well as different CDROM manufacturers.

For example, Samsung CDROMs have issues of spinning too fast and missed a few files, but if you do copying of the files onto ur hard drives before you installed, no files are skipped.

MSI CDROMs also have similar issues. Asus CDROMs have issues like, unable to read certain CDRs, probably due to the coating of the CDRs (too poor quality).

If possible, use ur raw HDD and use another system to partition it first, declare two FAT32 partitions and copy the entire XP pro files on the extended partition. One of the setup for XP is meant for Dos prompt * i forgot whh...sorry* Then install from Dos prompt.

That shld get ur issues solved.
PIV 2.6Ghz w HT 512k Cache 800Mhz FSB
Twinmos 1GB DC 400 CL2.5
120GB IBM 7200RPM w 2MB cache
120GB Maxtor 7200RPM w 8MB cache
Nvidia FX5200 128MB
Philips SXGA 150S4 15\" LCD
Cooler Mastor Centurion
Global WIN Cooling System
TDK Cyclone 48X24X28X CDRW
Panasonic FDD
Intel PRO 10/100 TX
Sigma IrDA Port
PixelView FM/TV Pro
James is offline  
Old 11-04-2003, 07:32 AM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 94
Question jump settings re: BOOT

My Jumper settings are/were OK.
I booted-up using the 6 discs i got from here...
All operating systems supported.
However, i do have other problems... To be Continued!
Blo is offline  
Old 04-22-2004, 03:13 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 94
Default display cuts-out/system restarts

Hi Ya, I'm back again!
After taking three years getting my PC running smoothly - everything's gone tit's-up...
My display cuts out, and my PC restarts... sometimes the monitor switches off, and i can't turn it on again, although this time, it just went blank - and then re-booted the system
I enclose the location of the error report - Although i don't know how to access it - could you tell me how?... It doesn't help that you can't copy and paste the error signature or Location, does it! - so i had to write the location down... I need someone to help me identify the problem...
Many thanks. Blo.
Error Report Files are :-

C:\DOCUME~1\DAVEST~1\LOCALS~1\Temp\WER2.tmp.dir00\ systemdata.xml

My system specs are:
New Official K7S5A030811 Bios
XP Proffessional/Office XP Proffessional
K7S5A M/board - (no oboard modem or network card)
Maxtor 40 GB - 7,200 spin H/drive - (Primary/Master)
512 MB / SD Ram / 133mhz
Asus CD/RW Drive - (secondary/Master)
16 X DVD Rom - (Secondary/Slave)
Neto Dragon 56kb Modem
Nividia Riva TNT2 M64 / 32 MB AGP Graphics Card

Blo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:02 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.