a problem with installing windows xp pro sp1..need help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-15-2005, 04:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Unhappy a problem with installing windows xp pro sp1..need help

ok i have just installed windows xp with sp1 but the only way i could install is if i skipped 3 files... bad already huh?? well i had to skip amdk6 I384 or I386 some file like that and another file call driver cab. so now i cant install all my drivers normally because of missing the driver cab file i have tried to do a whole format a quick formatt and a overwrite the original file and it still gets an error and makes me skip those 3 files i ran a check disk and i still am wihtout my motherboard drivers because windows is missing some files.. is this my hard drive?
__________________

burned-ati is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 04:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby
Default

is the cd scrathed?
__________________

__________________

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 04:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Default

well im gonna proubly get a new hard drive friday and install a different windows i have which is xp home edition sp2.. that should straighten everything out.. but if u guys have any clue how i can fix my other windows on the other hard drive tell me
burned-ati is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 04:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Default

no the cd is not scratched its like brand knew
burned-ati is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 05:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 30
Default

Hey, You should have bought Windows Xp Professional x64 Edtioion
Velocity-Spaz is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 05:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby
Default

that was very helpful spaz really!

Ok I am doubting its the harddrive. I am going to say there is an issue with the cd, see if you can borrow another cd from a friend and just use your cd key.

If you get the same error again then try a different cd rom.
__________________

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 05:40 PM   #7 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Try a different cd-rom first. then a new cd. Then RAM.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 05:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 30
Default

Shawn is right. If you are going to buy a new cd I say get Windows Xp Professional x64 Edtioion.

It is great!
Velocity-Spaz is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 07:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 371
Default

Did someone learn how to hyperlink, Spaz?
IAM_7154 is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 08:58 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Default

i have a 32bit processor what is a 64 bit windows gonna do spazz? and how do u afford a system like that wow!!! what do u score on benchmarks?? anyways well i guess i could try my cd-rw lol its in my system and not even hooked up... but is there a chance of it being my hard drive because i have been having some crazy problems with it.. like the whole reason i redid xp on my hard drive is because i kept on getting hard disk boot error on startup i would get about 1 out of about 25 boots
__________________

burned-ati is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.