Problem with IE 6... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-28-2004, 04:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3
Default Problem with IE 6...

I installed some program that left their homepage link on my right click menu of my IE 6, so now each time I right click, it's title is there, in capped letters.

I tried to uninstall and reinstall, didn't work, I tried spybot/adaware, and immunizing it, didn't work. Then I tried to uninstall the program, didn't work. I also tried to use Context editors to get rid of it, one that have .ru (pretty sure thats the extension to right click menu in IE 6), but failed finding one.

Would the one http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,4149,1164643,00.asp work (can't find the free version) or is there any other way I might be able to get rid of it? Thanks!
__________________

Divine is offline  
Old 01-28-2004, 05:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 548
Send a message via AIM to aye29 Send a message via Yahoo to aye29
Default

Maybe this might help.
http://www.tweaknews.net/forum/viewt...&view=previous
As always, make sure you back up your registry before you make any changes to it in case something goes south.
__________________

aye29 is offline  
Old 01-28-2004, 07:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks, but didn't work, I deleted everything except for winzip and winrar in hte context root, and the programs ad is still there...
Divine is offline  
Old 01-28-2004, 10:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 548
Send a message via AIM to aye29 Send a message via Yahoo to aye29
Default

OK try this here and see if this works.
http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,4149,911422,00.asp

*edit* Let it us know how it goes.
aye29 is offline  
Old 01-28-2004, 11:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3
Default

Woohoo it's gone! Thanks a lot for the help.

I'm using windows 2000, so that exact path wasn't in my registry, but I followed a smiliar path and found it. Also, turns out if you search for the word in the ad, the search feature in the registry will find it.
Divine is offline  
Old 01-28-2004, 11:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 548
Send a message via AIM to aye29 Send a message via Yahoo to aye29
Default

Happy to help.
aye29 is offline  
Old 01-28-2004, 11:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 260
Default

I have another strange IE6 problem. I just reinstalled my Win xp pro. Everything works fine, but when I try to browse with my IE6, some webpages can not be loaded. For instance, my yahoo page will only load half, the bottom half from search box down does not load. And some other websites such as msn.com have the same problem as well.

I tried to uninstall IE6 and reinstall it from my WinXP cd, but it still the same.

Anyone has any suggestion, ideas? Thanks

N.S. on this forum, I can read most of the posts, but some posts would just appear blank. This is really weird.
lavenderAC is offline  
Old 01-29-2004, 04:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1
Default IE6

I had a problem with a webcam site that didn't load. I went to java.com and downloaded java . It fixed the problem. I assumed it was loaded with the install but I guess not.
__________________

thelew is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.