Problem with icons on the Vista desktop - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-26-2008, 10:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 5
Default Problem with icons on the Vista desktop



Does anyone know if this is normal, that there is a thin 1px border on those icons. I looked at a lot of other people's desktop through Google searches and found none like this. How do I change it so it doesn't have those borders?
__________________

Jaden is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 10:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Problem with icons on the Vista desktop

Runescape...
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 10:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
cichlidkeeper91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 210
Default Re: Problem with icons on the Vista desktop

Have you tried a diff back ground. Not really sure why its like that.
__________________
............nub
cichlidkeeper91 is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 10:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Problem with icons on the Vista desktop

I think it's an icon compatibility issue.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 11:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 5
Default Re: Problem with icons on the Vista desktop

Well, I remember this occurring sometime after I installed Microsoft Office 2003., but then uninstalled it to see if it would fix the problem.
Jaden is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 11:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Problem with icons on the Vista desktop

Rebuild your Icon Cache.

Vista Icon rebuild - Google Search
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 11:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 5
Default Re: Problem with icons on the Vista desktop

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
Rebuild your Icon Cache.

Vista Icon rebuild - Google Search
Ok, I did that and apparently nothing changed with the icons, unless I did something incorrectly. I may try it again.
Jaden is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 11:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Problem with icons on the Vista desktop

It could be your background interacting with the icons. What video card do you have and can you run Aero?
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 11:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 5
Default Re: Problem with icons on the Vista desktop

This is occuring on my HP laptop that just just bought recently. It has a NVIDIA GeForce Go 7150M card. Since it's fairly new, and I don't have very much stuff on it I might just reboot my computer with my recovery disks. Maybe that will solve the problem.
Jaden is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 12:02 AM   #10 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Problem with icons on the Vista desktop

It could be a driver issue. Have you updated the Video Drivers since you got the laptop? I know that nVidia released some newer drivers recently.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
problem with viewing pictures in Vista memory Microsoft Windows and Software 8 03-14-2008 04:58 AM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM
Vista Sound problem NayNay1991x Microsoft Windows and Software 12 08-06-2007 03:03 PM
Vista Boot Problem Mike9182 Microsoft Windows and Software 3 05-19-2007 09:15 PM
If Systray Icons Decide to Vanish On You! veg1992 Microsoft Windows and Software 3 04-29-2007 11:00 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.