Problem with fresh install of WinXP Pro with SP2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-24-2005, 04:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 12
Default Problem with fresh install of WinXP Pro with SP2

I've just done a brand new fresh install of Windows XP Professional (with SP2) and my mouse and keyboard keep freezing at random moments for a few seconds at a time.

What's even weirder is that Windows will sometimes even freeze all together and it's just the mouse and keyboard that haven't!?!?! It's still possible to switch between programs, but all of which have frozen, and I can't open extra programs.....not even the start menu!?!

Has anyone else experienced this? If so, has anyone got a solution?

Thanks in advance!
__________________

Nilhanth is offline  
Old 08-24-2005, 05:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

Check your device manager first, maybe theres a hardware conflict
__________________

__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 08-24-2005, 05:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default

SP2 is the bane of us all! D:

heh. but really, it's either a conflict in the device manager or maybe your IDE cable to the harddrive is a slow one. if you built the computer yourself, that is.

more than likely some hardware conflict though.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 08-24-2005, 05:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 12
Default

ok i'll have a look in device manager.......

It's a SATA hdd btw.......so no IDE cable!


EDIT:
What exactly am I looking for in device manager?
.....and where?
Nilhanth is offline  
Old 08-24-2005, 05:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nilhanth
ok i'll have a look in device manager.......

It's a SATA hdd btw.......so no IDE cable!


EDIT:
What exactly am I looking for in device manager?
.....and where?
just right click on "my computer", go to the hardware tab, then device manager, and look for any colors lol

blue red black or yellow exclamation points means theres a problem
__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 08-25-2005, 04:49 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BASSMASTER
just right click on "my computer", go to the hardware tab, then device manager, and look for any colors lol

blue red black or yellow exclamation points means theres a problem
I know how to get to device manager!!! lol

I just wasn't sure what I was looking for inside device manager........ but thanks for the colour tips!
Nilhanth is offline  
Old 08-25-2005, 09:40 AM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Actually wouldnt any exclamation point be an error? Since i dont have any ! at all i would think so. Anyways it might be you mouse and keyboard drivers. Have you downloaded new ones? It might be the ones on your CD are Pre SP2 while you are installing SP2 and it is causing a problem. Might want to try some new drivers for them and see if anything works.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 08-26-2005, 08:56 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 12
Default

well I've had a look at every single component, and none of them have any conflicts or problems!

Any other ideas?
Nilhanth is offline  
Old 08-26-2005, 11:35 AM   #9 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Have you tried the software upgrade for you mouse and keyboard? Are they USB? Maybe you are having issues with USB not running correctly.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 08-26-2005, 01:26 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Makaveli213
Have you tried the software upgrade for you mouse and keyboard? Are they USB? Maybe you are having issues with USB not running correctly.
To be prefectly honest, I think it's something more serious than keyboard/mouse drivers because the whole of windows freezes at times, and I can't do anything.

First, it freezes temporarily a few times, then windows freezes completely after a while and I have to reset!
__________________

Nilhanth is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.