Problem with formatting - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-30-2005, 06:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default Problem with formatting

ok well i got some crap last night over 142 trojans so today i just reformated my hdd and it does boot to windows. It does the whole thing and when it reboots i take the cd out and it goes to the normal screen boot from cd. WHen i have windows on the hdd i also tried leaving the cd in there but it just booted back to set-up. And then this 2nd i reformatted i made a partition for windows same crap.
__________________

Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 09:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Question

Can you clarify what you need help with? It's confusing......
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 09:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 81
Default

It appears to be a problem of Windows Setup Routines sticking even after System has been installed.

Correct us if we are wrong. Your request for assistance is rather confusing. Clarify and Elaborate.
The Borg is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 09:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

sorry im really tried and i just had a nap i didnt know what i was writing here.

i reformatted my hdd and when its done it rebooted i took the cd out. And it didnt boot windows.
theni reformatted again but i made a partition for windows the whole hdd same thing didnt boot windows. hjope this helps.
__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 09:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 81
Default

Well... You formated your disk. Guess is, you need to reinstall Windows.
The Borg is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 09:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

well i mean it said on the set-up reinstall windows that what i did
__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 09:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Did you set it to boot off the HDD? Did you make sure your cables are oriented correctly or jumpers?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 09:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 81
Default

How many partitions does your HDD have? How many HDDs you have? Have you reformated your entire HDD?

Install Windows onto your first HDD partition. If this is where you are encountering problems then try second partition.

We encountered this problem once but fail to remember how we actually resolved the issue.
The Borg is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 09:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 81
Default

Since he managed to format the disk in the first place, it is safe to deduce that his HDD is connected properly. Also, check in your BIOS that HDD you are installing your OS on is set to be a 1st Boot Device. If you are using a really old Motherboard/Comp, there is probably an option to set a boot partition. Your Computer Configuration is required for further troubleshooting.
The Borg is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 10:10 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

no its the computer in my sig,
__________________

__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.