Problem with File association - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-11-2004, 04:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 154
Question Problem with File association

I have a problem with my OS.
I am using Windows XP Home Edition Service Pack1.

but then,one day i cant open those application programs by double-click on it.
It shows a message that no files are associated with and ask me to fix the file association Control Panel

however, i still can open a file.for example, i can open an .doc file but i cant open Mirosoft Words by double-click on that,
can i know what is the problem and method to fix it?
__________________

__________________
The important thing is not to stop questioning...
Albert Einstein
ZoneFire is offline  
Old 11-11-2004, 05:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 973
Send a message via Yahoo to intercodes
Default

Zone Fire,

Quote:
however, i still can open a file.for example, i can open an .doc file but i cant open Mirosoft Words by double-click on that,
When you open the .doc file, it opens in MS word?

You are getting these lost file associations only for Microsoft Office products or for other applications too? .
IF only for MS Office ,try to reinstall MS Office. I once got trouble with the Office product due to some product key problem.

Iam also afraid that you may have a virus hanging around in your system, please perform a full scan with atleast 2 AV's .

Sign
Codes
__________________

intercodes is offline  
Old 11-11-2004, 06:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 154
Default

no, it is not just only the Microsoft products but also other application programs.
i have no idea about it.
i cant open any application programs by double-clicking on the icons.
__________________
The important thing is not to stop questioning...
Albert Einstein
ZoneFire is offline  
Old 11-11-2004, 06:28 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 106
Send a message via ICQ to suker Send a message via AIM to suker Send a message via Yahoo to suker
Default

you can fix this problem!

First , open "my computer" and select TOOLs-Folder options

open the folder options dialog ! and select file type and fix your
file associations in it !
__________________
Never too Old to Learn
Never too Old to Make Friends


AIM : cqpc120
MSN : cqpc120@msn.com
Yahoo: cqpc120
suker is offline  
Old 11-11-2004, 06:30 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 106
Send a message via ICQ to suker Send a message via AIM to suker Send a message via Yahoo to suker
Default

By the way, you at best perform a full virus scan on your computer first!
__________________
Never too Old to Learn
Never too Old to Make Friends


AIM : cqpc120
MSN : cqpc120@msn.com
Yahoo: cqpc120
suker is offline  
Old 11-11-2004, 07:53 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 973
Send a message via Yahoo to intercodes
Default

Quote:
suker : you can fix this problem!
First , open "my computer" and select TOOLs-Folder options
open the folder options dialog ! and select file type and fix your
file associations in it !
That can't be done..!Cuz 'ZoneFire' says that his applications aren't opening.Even if he associate the 'File Types' correctly, which I assume is already associated correctly, it wont work!.Try the AV's


Sign
Codes
intercodes is offline  
Old 11-11-2004, 08:01 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 106
Send a message via ICQ to suker Send a message via AIM to suker Send a message via Yahoo to suker
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by intercodes
That can't be done..!Cuz 'ZoneFire' says that his applications aren't opening.Even if he associate the 'File Types' correctly, which I assume is already associated correctly, it wont work!.Try the AV's


Sign
Codes

I never meet problem like this ! It's very strange!
__________________
Never too Old to Learn
Never too Old to Make Friends


AIM : cqpc120
MSN : cqpc120@msn.com
Yahoo: cqpc120
suker is offline  
Old 11-11-2004, 09:40 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 154
Default

actually i faced the problem after i scan and fix the problems with SpyBot.
so, i think it happen becuase i had fixed some problems related to the registry via SPyBot.
__________________
The important thing is not to stop questioning...
Albert Einstein
ZoneFire is offline  
Old 11-11-2004, 09:43 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 106
Send a message via ICQ to suker Send a message via AIM to suker Send a message via Yahoo to suker
Default

where and how can i down;oad the SpyBot freeware!

tell me ! ZoneFire
__________________
Never too Old to Learn
Never too Old to Make Friends


AIM : cqpc120
MSN : cqpc120@msn.com
Yahoo: cqpc120
suker is offline  
Old 11-11-2004, 09:57 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 154
Default

you want the SpyBot?
you can try to search it with Google.
__________________

__________________
The important thing is not to stop questioning...
Albert Einstein
ZoneFire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.