problem with dvd software crashing - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-26-2005, 02:30 PM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

One failes, they all fail..its gotta be software or driver conflict of codec problem.....one of them. What is the Brand and Model number of the Sony?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 02:33 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

sony dvd rw dw-d22a

In previous Post.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 02:37 PM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

oops....

Check here, these guys have the same problem


http://forums.driverguide.com/showthread.php?t=5765
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 02:39 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

There ae no firmware updates for it like you said. But you can try so use they have on this page

http://forum.rpc1.org/dl_firmware.php?download_id=1944
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 02:44 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 10
Default

yup as above...looks like we are getting closer to the root of the problem.i watched batman begins dvd last night and used my default player windvd7.nothing happened! sick feeling in my stomach as i wondered if it was a return of the old prob that had me re formating etc.so i tried realplayer which worked and i watched the film.so this morning i had time to check out why windvd7 failed and hey..realplayer throw the towel in too and also winmedia player! aaaaaarrrrrrhhhhhhhh!!!!
nige1 is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 02:53 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 10
Default

yer i just read that link about the guy with the same problem....very worrying.i might end up having to get another dvd rom.thxs for all your help.i will let you know how i get on.
nige1 is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 03:36 PM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

before getting a new dvd rom, I would do a format
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 04:02 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 10
Default

yup i might be worth it but i only did it about 3 weeks ago because of this same problem.i would hate to go through it all that again but your proberly right...in the morning i think i will be a bit more up for it! do u think just re installing windows might do it?
nige1 is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 04:33 PM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

why do you have some many installed anyways?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 03:53 AM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 10
Default

the only one ive installed is windvd7.real player was put on by my daughter...i think it may be something to do with her i pod or maybe on of her fav website has asked to install it.as for interactual god knows.its very frustrating setting my system up and coming back and finding somthing else on there!i ask my daughter and i get the standard reply'its not me' or 'its not my fault'! next year im putting this pc downstairs for everone to use and im going to have my own!arh bliss.
__________________

nige1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.