problem that is driving me nuts, and i need help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-27-2005, 11:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 8
Default ctrl+alt+delete doesn't pop up task manager! but something else! wtf?

OS: Windows XP Pro

Problem: for some reason, ctrl+alt+delete does not give me the usual task manager and such, but only gives me one of the screens that is under task manager. how do it get the default stuff back?!?! I will included a screen shot of what pops up when I do ctrl+alt+delete.
__________________

omega77 is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 11:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 432
Default

Warez Monster posted this under the "Tutorial and Tips" subforum.

To reinstall the Microsoft Task Manager:

NOTE: You must be logged on as Administrator or as a member of the Administrators group in order to perform this procedure.

Click Start , click Run , and then type the following command:
%systemroot%\inf

NOTE : There are no spaces at all in the preceding command line.

Click OK to open the INF folder.
Locate the file mstask.inf
Right-click the file, and then click Install . This will reinstall the files that Search needs to proceed normally.

You will be asked to place your windows XP cd rom in the drive.

Note# I have only tried on XP Pro

If it works, thank Warez!
__________________

tribalsun is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 11:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 8
Default

i saw that, but cannot locate the mstask.inf file, i only found the mstask.pnf file..
omega77 is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 12:13 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 432
Default

I've uploaded the file for you. Right click, save target as.

mstask.inf
tribalsun is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 12:19 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 8
Default

it now was the windows xp pro service package 2 disk, where do i find that?!?1
omega77 is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 12:23 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 432
Default

You don't have a Windows XP install disc? If you don't have the disc this won't work as per the original instructions. Borrow one from a friend and try.
tribalsun is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 12:25 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 8
Default

no, i do, but its asking for sp2 disk, and not installation disk
omega77 is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 12:28 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 432
Default

Just try your XP disc.
tribalsun is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 12:35 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 8
Default

okay, youre right the XP disk found the file. installed it... after restarting, same thing, problem not solved..
omega77 is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 12:41 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 432
Default

I'm sorry it didn't work. I don't know what more to suggest other then perhaps trying a system restore. I'd hate to give you the blanket "format and reinstall" answer but unless someone else has any other suggestions that help you, you just might.
__________________

tribalsun is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.