a prob which not even techys online can solve - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-22-2003, 06:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1
Send a message via Yahoo to grid_1
Exclamation a prob which not even techys online can solve

Hi,
a prob no one has solved so far. i built this pc and was working ok until i tried accessing internet i found out that my modem wouldnt connect, it had been installed tidy as it was showing as 56k soft modem, so i removed the modem so i could try it on mine,and it worked.then i found out it was the line. so i put the modem back in its original slot and booted up and message came up pci cummunications device not installed, so i tried installin drivers but it wouldnt have none of it, i notice in device manager that all f my controllers were showing the yellow sybol but the were there earlier. so i formatted my hd and tried again but failed (xp), then i downloaded 98 and . i have manage to install driver on 98 but everytime i go to diagnostics a blue screen comes up 1128:clabd977 in vxd basic2(01) . i have not been able to connect on line, i have also swaped pci slots. deleted old modem.

is it a hard ware problem?? or software??

and also my vga controller,usb,controller,audio controller,cummunications device controller are not woking all showing yellow

ps when use start up disk it did say in the build up error on config disk line 17??could this b the reson???

my spec is 2.7 cpu, asus a7nv8x-x,1 gig mem. 40 gig hd


plz plz help meeeeeeeeeee
__________________

grid_1 is offline  
Old 09-22-2003, 07:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

this sounds like a job for an "offline" techy. the reason many "online" techies can't solve it is because they do not have access to your computer so all they can do is take guesses. i am very sure this is some kind of software problem because you said everything except the modem was working fine until you re-configured your computer.

if you don't get this problem fixed i'm willing to try to fix it for you. just install winxp and send me an "remote assistance" invitation to my email. pm me if this is what you want
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Old 09-23-2003, 08:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 3,313
Default

If you don't install the modem at all, not even put it in the machine, do you still have the problems?
__________________
You could say I've been around.
Shakie
Shakie is offline  
Old 04-07-2004, 08:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to footbaldd
Default

it kinda sounds like u have a resource conflict. have u went into device manager and checked what it says.
footbaldd is offline  
Old 04-07-2004, 10:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 415
Default

ekÆsine,
its very kind of u to offer to remotely assist him/her but just curious how do u plan on doing this when the pc wont go online
__________________
Fear is nothing but the anticipation of pain, be it physical, mental, spiritual or emotional.
specs.
Athlon XP 2200+ oc\'ed @ 1.93ghz
MSI ms-6738
768mb ddr2100
Nvidia mx420 :(
60gig maxtor 7200rpm
Dual boot with Mandrake 10.0 and Win XP Pro sp2
neversleeps is offline  
Old 04-08-2004, 09:03 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
HoLoCroN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 1,305
Default

Why dont you try the following:

1) Remove the modem.

2) Install a clean copy of Windows XP (Delete all partitions, and recreate them, then format partitions using WinXP CD)

3)Once the Windows install has completed Install appropriate drivers (Video, Sound etc.)

4)Install SP1.

5)Reboot (Make sure you don't have any hardware conflicts in your device manager)

6)After you are satisfied with the systems integrity, create a windows restore point (just in case things don't go to well - Start > Programs > Accessories > System Tools > System Restore)

7) install the modem

Let us know how it goes.
HoLoCroN is offline  
Old 04-08-2004, 05:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

do you have any specific MB drivers... especially for controllers. See if you HDD, for example, is listed as generic disk controller. some MBD are going back to specific driver info and come with a mainboard installation. I know back in the day, some MBD's we had to create the windows folder, copy the PIIX drivers over and then do a flat install of windows. Those days sucked.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 04-08-2004, 06:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I would definately go back to XP pro, it is much more stable

so it doesn't install the drivers? maybe the particular drivers you're using do not work, try downloading a different driver from driverguide and transfer it by floppy or something onto the PC with probs
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-08-2004, 06:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

check and see if the MBD manufacturer has any specific PCI and IDE controller drivers that you need. get on the other system that works and look it up online. I think its more than a problem with just the modem.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 04-08-2004, 06:58 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

ah, looks like a HP riptide chameleon modem. Ugh, hate winmodems. well, try like apok said and install latest drivers for XP (modem) if that doesn't work, then check for controller drivers for the MBD>
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.