Printer spooler - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-09-2006, 12:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4
Default Printer spooler

Hello,
1) I recently networked my 2 (both xp home)computers together and share a printer. When i try to print it takes forever just for it to print 1 page any ideas? It worked fine before I did the whole network/share printer thing.

2) My printer spooler service sits at 50% cpu usage constantly even with printer tunrned off and unplugged from the computer. the only way I have found to stop this is to go into services.msc and disable and stop the service.

Both of these things are rather annoying so any help would be appreciated

Thanx in advance
__________________

Lystat2k2se is offline  
Old 04-09-2006, 12:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

in the properties of the printer, do you have printer pooling enabled?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 04-09-2006, 06:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4
Default

I checked the pooling and no it wasn't but I enabled it. It made me choose a second port though i just chose a randome one, don't know if that matters? anyways I havnt tried to print anything but I turned back on spoolsv.exe and cpu usage sits at 50% for this service still
Lystat2k2se is offline  
Old 04-09-2006, 09:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

can you print from both computers to the same printer?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 04-09-2006, 09:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319
Default

have you tried reseting the print spooler ??

Start > Run > Services.msc > Printer Spooler > Stop > Start
__________________

Avalanch3 is offline  
Old 04-10-2006, 04:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Yes to printing from both computers, and yes on restarting printer spooler.

Printing from both computers is fine now it prints at normal speed so that is fixed although I don't know how lol. The spooler service still sits at 50% cpu usage though.

I think I am just going to re-do the network all together and see if that does it.
Lystat2k2se is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 07:53 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Warez Monster
in the properties of the printer, do you have printer pooling enabled?
Printer pooling wouldnt work with only 1 printer would it? I thought pooling was to use one "logical" printer, but multiple "physical" printers/printer ports. The pooling effect being if one printer was busy it would pool to the others until it found one that wasnt busy and print to it. At least that is what I recall from my MCSE studies for the XP exam....

Maybe there is an old job stuck in the spool folder that is hogging the resources up? See if there is anything hiding in here C:\WINDOWS\system32\spool\PRINTERS
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 06:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally posted by Win2kpatcher
Printer pooling wouldnt work with only 1 printer would it? I thought pooling was to use one "logical" printer, but multiple "physical" printers/printer ports. The pooling effect being if one printer was busy it would pool to the others until it found one that wasnt busy and print to it. At least that is what I recall from my MCSE studies for the XP exam....

Maybe there is an old job stuck in the spool folder that is hogging the resources up? See if there is anything hiding in here C:\WINDOWS\system32\spool\PRINTERS
Wow thanks alot! I checked the folder and there were 2 objects inside. Right click/deleted then started the service back up and poof no more hogging the the cpu! Thanks for all the help!!!!
Lystat2k2se is offline  
Old 06-21-2006, 12:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 225
Send a message via Yahoo to brrymnvette
Default

This just fiexd my problem also. I was a little worried b/c my cpu usage was at 99%. I googled spoolsv.exe and found out it could also be a hacker using it.
__________________

brrymnvette is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.