Printer problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-07-2005, 04:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 160
Default Printer problems

After a couple of weeks I get printer communication problems. I have a Lexmark 5270 All-in-one. Has anybody else had this problem? I can correct it after reinstalling the software, but this gets annoying every couple weeks. I'm running XP SP2 with everything updated and also updated drivers from the Lexmark site. IDK WTF is the problem. If anybody has any suggestions that would be great.
__________________

Dan DeVille is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 04:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 778
Default

WHAT printer communication problems? be specific.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 2.13GHz
Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Motherboard
OCZ PLATINUM REV2 2GB (1GB*2) DDR2-800Mhz RAM
Seagate 320GB 7200.10 SATA2 HDD
eVGA 7600GT 256MB PCI-E Video Card
LITE-ON DVDRW w/ LightScribe
Lite-ON DVD-ROM Drive
Cooler Master Centurion 5 Case
FSP Group Fortron Blue Storm 500W PSU
Logitech MX 3000 Cordless Desktop
Logitech X-530 5.1 Speaker System
Acer AL2223W
Windows Vista Ultimate
Ankush09 is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 04:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 160
Default

It won't print. The software that I have tells me "problem communicating with the printer". Maybe I should try another cable. The one I'm using is at least 3 years old.
__________________
Gateway 506GR
CPU: Intel P4 Prescott 550 HT 3.4Ghz
MOBO: Intel D915GAG
RAM:1Gb (2x512) Samsung DDR400 PC3200 3,3,3,8
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 7200 RPM SATA 200GB
VGA: Diamond Stealth Radeon 9200SE
PSU: Thermaltake TR2 430W
Dan DeVille is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 04:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 262
Send a message via AIM to PC Man Brian
Default

Did you try un-plugging it and plugging it back in and then restarting?
__________________
PC Man Brian is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 04:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 160
Default

Yes. The only way I've gotten it to work is if I uninstall the software then install it again. Very annoying.
__________________
Gateway 506GR
CPU: Intel P4 Prescott 550 HT 3.4Ghz
MOBO: Intel D915GAG
RAM:1Gb (2x512) Samsung DDR400 PC3200 3,3,3,8
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 7200 RPM SATA 200GB
VGA: Diamond Stealth Radeon 9200SE
PSU: Thermaltake TR2 430W
Dan DeVille is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 05:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 262
Send a message via AIM to PC Man Brian
Default

Hm.. I'm baffled. Did you check Lexmark support?
__________________

__________________
PC Man Brian is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.