Prevent Someone From Reformating XP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-25-2006, 07:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
ben_ben's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 350
Default Prevent Someone From Reformating XP

My next door neighbor needed to borrow my laptop so i decided to let him. When i got it back everything was gone, it turns out his kid reformatted it. It took me multiple hours to get it back to normal and he wants to borrow it again. I like my neighbor so i want to let him borrow it however i don't want it to get reformatted again so does anyone know how to make it so you can't reformat it without a password or something. and you can't recover this password or bypass it??????/

Please help fast!

ben_ben is offline  
Old 11-25-2006, 07:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191

Set a BIOS password? That is your only choice, because I could take a Knoppix disc to any PC without a BIOS password and format it.

The General is offline  
Old 11-25-2006, 09:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Disillusion's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810

I would beat that kid within an inch of his life. There you go, problem solved. Let the neighbor borrow it without the fear of his punk *** kid trying to reformat.
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 11-26-2006, 11:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Law's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200

Give your neighbor a limited account or let him use the Guest account. Password protect the Administrative accounts or any account that is part of the administrators group or owner group if you're on XP Home.

And as General stated, password protect your BIOS and set the hard drive to boot before the CD. Hopefully your computer doesn't have one of those hot key you can press to select which device to boot first.

Law is offline  
Old 11-27-2006, 02:24 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
KingAustin's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Iowa
Posts: 673
Send a message via AIM to KingAustin

My question is why the **** did the kid reformat the harddrive?! That makes me mad and I'm not even involved in the situation.
E6300 w/ AF7 Pro 3.11ghz
Gigabyte DS3
2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
7900GT w/ Zalman vf900 650/800
Z-5500 Digital Speakers
22" Chimei + 19" BENQ
XClio 3060
KingAustin is offline  
Old 11-27-2006, 02:27 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Dexaroni's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 551
Send a message via AIM to Dexaroni Send a message via MSN to Dexaroni

I would request that he not let the kid touch the laptop, and make a guest account and set a password. I suggest you close out the MSdos prompt.

The kid probably learned how to format in school and wanted to show his dad...
Dexaroni is offline  
Old 11-27-2006, 04:59 AM   #7 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
TheMajor's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177

You could still take out the hard disk and format it.
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-27-2006, 08:02 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
mBernhardt's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 279

I would let him know about the damage his kid caused the last time. I'd also set an ultimatum if it happens again that you don't feel comfortable loaning out your laptop if its going to come back "damaged" every time.

Oh yeah, backup anything and everything you can. Just in case.
"i would never use a firewall, even without a router protecting me. Firewalls are just wastes of memory."
name omitted to protect the innocent

the cake is a lie
mBernhardt is offline  
Old 11-27-2006, 03:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247

Set to boot to HDD only in the bios and the password protect the bios. I know old bios you could have only one boot device, thus diabling the floppy and CD boot and I'm guessing you can still do that, but with the way some crap changes I could be wrong now.

If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:39 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.