Prevent Someone From Reformating XP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-25-2006, 08:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
ben_ben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 350
Default Prevent Someone From Reformating XP

My next door neighbor needed to borrow my laptop so i decided to let him. When i got it back everything was gone, it turns out his kid reformatted it. It took me multiple hours to get it back to normal and he wants to borrow it again. I like my neighbor so i want to let him borrow it however i don't want it to get reformatted again so does anyone know how to make it so you can't reformat it without a password or something. and you can't recover this password or bypass it??????/

Please help fast!
__________________

ben_ben is offline  
Old 11-25-2006, 08:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Set a BIOS password? That is your only choice, because I could take a Knoppix disc to any PC without a BIOS password and format it.
__________________

The General is offline  
Old 11-25-2006, 10:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default

I would beat that kid within an inch of his life. There you go, problem solved. Let the neighbor borrow it without the fear of his punk *** kid trying to reformat.
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 11-26-2006, 12:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Give your neighbor a limited account or let him use the Guest account. Password protect the Administrative accounts or any account that is part of the administrators group or owner group if you're on XP Home.

And as General stated, password protect your BIOS and set the hard drive to boot before the CD. Hopefully your computer doesn't have one of those hot key you can press to select which device to boot first.
__________________

Law is offline  
Old 11-27-2006, 03:24 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
KingAustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Iowa
Posts: 673
Send a message via AIM to KingAustin
Default

My question is why the **** did the kid reformat the harddrive?! That makes me mad and I'm not even involved in the situation.
__________________
E6300 w/ AF7 Pro 3.11ghz
Gigabyte DS3
2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
7900GT w/ Zalman vf900 650/800
Z-5500 Digital Speakers
22" Chimei + 19" BENQ
XClio 3060
KingAustin is offline  
Old 11-27-2006, 03:27 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Dexaroni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 551
Send a message via AIM to Dexaroni Send a message via MSN to Dexaroni
Default

I would request that he not let the kid touch the laptop, and make a guest account and set a password. I suggest you close out the MSdos prompt.

The kid probably learned how to format in school and wanted to show his dad...
__________________
Dexaroni is offline  
Old 11-27-2006, 05:59 AM   #7 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

You could still take out the hard disk and format it.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-27-2006, 09:02 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mBernhardt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 279
Default

I would let him know about the damage his kid caused the last time. I'd also set an ultimatum if it happens again that you don't feel comfortable loaning out your laptop if its going to come back "damaged" every time.

Oh yeah, backup anything and everything you can. Just in case.
__________________
"i would never use a firewall, even without a router protecting me. Firewalls are just wastes of memory."
name omitted to protect the innocent

the cake is a lie
mBernhardt is offline  
Old 11-27-2006, 04:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

Set to boot to HDD only in the bios and the password protect the bios. I know old bios you could have only one boot device, thus diabling the floppy and CD boot and I'm guessing you can still do that, but with the way some crap changes I could be wrong now.
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.