"press A Key To Reboot" - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-31-2004, 10:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 21
Default "press A Key To Reboot"

I have just installed windows xp pro on my new hard drive. The installlation went good with no problems. But whenever i try to boot my system, I get a message saying "PRESS A KEY TO REBOOT". I press a key and it restarts back to the same message. This message pops up if the windows cd is not in the drive. If it is, I dont get it. I tried changing the boot sequence having the hard drive first but still i keep getting the same thing. It is a little annoying to know u have to have a windows cd in ur cd drive to boot up. Any help is appreciated



EDIT
I forgot to mention, the hard drive is not set as the primary master or watever since my old hard drive which was once for booting and now for storage is set as the master. Would that affect it.?
__________________

runescaper is offline  
Old 10-31-2004, 11:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 973
Send a message via Yahoo to intercodes
Default

Sometimes formatting problems may also lead to the booting errors.Did you create an active partition while formatting your new Hard Disk?
Also try connecting you hard disk as master [thou it is not a problem having it in slave]
__________________

intercodes is offline  
Old 11-01-2004, 12:49 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 808
Default Re: "press A Key To Reboot"

Quote:
Originally posted by runescaper
I have just installed windows xp pro on my new hard drive. The installlation went good with no problems. But whenever i try to boot my system, I get a message saying "PRESS A KEY TO REBOOT". I press a key and it restarts back to the same message. This message pops up if the windows cd is not in the drive. If it is, I dont get it. I tried changing the boot sequence having the hard drive first but still i keep getting the same thing. It is a little annoying to know u have to have a windows cd in ur cd drive to boot up. Any help is appreciated



EDIT
I forgot to mention, the hard drive is not set as the primary master or watever since my old hard drive which was once for booting and now for storage is set as the master. Would that affect it.?
Your installation did not go well. boot to your xp cd, format,reinstall
derrmc is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.