press f1 to continue - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-09-2006, 03:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 487
Send a message via AIM to benzimm86
Default press f1 to continue

On one of our old windows 3.11 packard bell computers that is used for a phone system, when you turn the computer on, you get a message that says
--------------------------
reference id 20

invalid configuration info- please run setup program. press the f1 key to continue f2 to run setup utility
-------------------------------------
I thought maybe it was the floppy controller so i disabled that but that did not do anything.
__________________

__________________
amd athlon xp2100+
asus a7v333 mb
nvidia geforce4mx 420 64 mb
thermaltake volcano 12
1 gig ddr pc2100
thermaltake purepower 420w psu
dvd-rw
audigy 2 platinum sound card
benzimm86 is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 03:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

run a check disk make sure the drive isnt bad.
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 06:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 201
Send a message via AIM to bigr5026
Default

something in the bios is messed up. or a jumper someware on the board is messed up in the worng position
bigr5026 is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 03:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default

Its happend on some of my Dells here at work, ive sloved it by removing the CMOS and waiting a few min and then putting it back in and rebooting.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Old 08-13-2006, 01:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7
Default

The battery on the mb may be going bad if it is that old. That makes the bios real flakey and can cause issues like that.
Pasta_Dog is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.