power up/down software - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-11-2005, 01:15 AM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE

I looked in my bios and found that it has the option of

AC power loss restart (enable/disable)

Does this mean that the pc will boot up if there is a power loss and power is restored? Will the pc power up on its own with this option enabled? Would this cause any damage to my pc. I have a spike protector before the powerstip, and the power strip has one too.

Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 11:25 AM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937

I think wake-on-alarm is a feature of many recent motherboard manufacturer in the last few years. shuttle, pc chips, asus. on some gateway computers its called Real Time Clock Wake-up Alarm. it can also be called RTC Alarm Wake up and other names are used.

all variations of asus a7n8x including the deluxe and E-dlx have it listed in the bios labeled "automatic power up", It might also be called RTC Timer (real time clock). consult your mobo manual or list your make/ model.

power loss restart, if disabled, leaves your PC turned off is there is a power loss. if enabled, your pc will reboot when power is restored. you still need to use a UPS (uninterruptible power supply) backup if you want your computer and data to be protected in case of a power loss. yes you will lose any unsaved data unless using UPS. yes it's possible for your hardware to be damage if you get a power spike, but not from a power loss.

ekÆsine is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 01:34 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258

I have been looking at this an I think there is a way with Scheduled Tasks.

If you schedule a task on your machine, running XP, you can tell it to wake the Computer up to do it. Now, this only works if the machine is in sleep mode, not powered down.
You might really want to look into the wake on Modem is you need this bad. All you would need is a remote terminal that can dial up the modem and send the magic packet to initiate it. After you configure the device that is...
it's very doable and not too hard.
good luck

Inaris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:06 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.