power up/down software - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-11-2005, 02:15 AM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

I looked in my bios and found that it has the option of

AC power loss restart (enable/disable)

Does this mean that the pc will boot up if there is a power loss and power is restored? Will the pc power up on its own with this option enabled? Would this cause any damage to my pc. I have a spike protector before the powerstip, and the power strip has one too.
__________________

__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 12:25 PM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

I think wake-on-alarm is a feature of many recent motherboard manufacturer in the last few years. shuttle, pc chips, asus. on some gateway computers its called Real Time Clock Wake-up Alarm. it can also be called RTC Alarm Wake up and other names are used.

all variations of asus a7n8x including the deluxe and E-dlx have it listed in the bios labeled "automatic power up", It might also be called RTC Timer (real time clock). consult your mobo manual or list your make/ model.

power loss restart, if disabled, leaves your PC turned off is there is a power loss. if enabled, your pc will reboot when power is restored. you still need to use a UPS (uninterruptible power supply) backup if you want your computer and data to be protected in case of a power loss. yes you will lose any unsaved data unless using UPS. yes it's possible for your hardware to be damage if you get a power spike, but not from a power loss.
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 02:34 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

I have been looking at this an I think there is a way with Scheduled Tasks.

If you schedule a task on your machine, running XP, you can tell it to wake the Computer up to do it. Now, this only works if the machine is in sleep mode, not powered down.
You might really want to look into the wake on Modem is you need this bad. All you would need is a remote terminal that can dial up the modem and send the magic packet to initiate it. After you configure the device that is...
it's very doable and not too hard.
good luck
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.