Power setting problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-01-2005, 09:37 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 923
Default Power setting problem

This is not a big problem but it is a problem more or less. My power saver in the screen saver section is not working properly. I like for monitor to shut down after about 20 minutes or so but recently it stopped shutting down. If I go and check it and put it to 1minute and sit there and wait it shuts down but when I have it set to 20 minutes I will come back hours later the screen is still on. What could be causing this? Is there any easy fix?
__________________

ingeborgdot is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 09:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Maybe you have something running that makes your computer think it's not idle. Maybe spyware or a virus.
__________________

__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 09:49 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 923
Default

Spyware! I have spybot, adaware personal se, spywareblaster and the pc world #1 rated counterspy. As for viruses I run AVG as my active virus protection. I shut it down and run pcillin, norton and panda every so often. Just did a check. Clean as a whistle. I said when I set it to 1 minute to watch it, it will shut down like it should.
ingeborgdot is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 04:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725
Default

I have a similar problem, sometimes the screensaver will remain on. The main thing I have thought of is my optical mouse. Perhaps the sensor might be mildly defective, or perhaps extremely sensitive to vibrations, ect around the house. One thing you could try is to turn off all start-up items and see if it will power down the monitor.
__________________
AGP won\'t fit in PCI-E... unless you use a really good hammer. ~Trotter
digitaloracle is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 05:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 923
Default

I have tried it for the 1 or 2 minute setting and it works fine. It's when I leave and come back hours later that it just doesn't seem to function.
ingeborgdot is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 09:53 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725
Default

When you come back hours later, is the monitor turned off as it is supposed to be? Does it not turn off again after you wake it up?
__________________
AGP won\'t fit in PCI-E... unless you use a really good hammer. ~Trotter
digitaloracle is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 10:01 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 923
Default

It works for everything under 20 minutes as I have experimented. At 20 minutes or more it does not turn off. Yes, it comes right on after I move the mouse around a little.
__________________

ingeborgdot is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.