Posting for a friend - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-02-2004, 07:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 764
Send a message via AIM to True_Orb
Default Posting for a friend

My buddy has this machine he bought off an internet website, it's about 3 years old if I remember correctly. He was given a list of parts and just picked from a list and it was built and sent to him.

Anyway, frequently while the computer is on, and performing any task (not sure about idle because we always use it) it will randomly restart. Any ideas?

He's got a 512mb DDR ram and about 1.7 GHZ mobo. That's about all I know, but I hate that both of us have to deal with his computer constantly falling asleep and waking up again! Especially when we haven't saved our work!
__________________

__________________
I argue with people on internet message boards.
Don\'t copy dat floppy!

--------------
Gigabyte GA-7DX(R) DualBIOS/A-bit KV8-Pro
AMD Duron 1.313GHZ/AMD 64 3000+ 2.0 GHZ
512 DDR266/1024 OCZ DDR (3200)
Chaintech GeForce 3 128mb/eVGA 6800GT 256mb
400 watt Powmax/530 watt Fortron
40.9GB 94098U8/80gb SATA
Maxtor DiamondMax/Seagate Barricuda
AOpen KF45A modded case
True_Orb is offline  
Old 03-02-2004, 07:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 207
Default

could be a weak psu
__________________

amd643200+ is offline  
Old 03-02-2004, 10:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

maybe the temps are too high, or the video card may not have the right drivers
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-02-2004, 10:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
ADZ
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,231
Send a message via Yahoo to ADZ
Default

By restarting do you mean just blink...restart or do you get a message saying your computer is going to restart in 60 Seconds?
ADZ is offline  
Old 03-02-2004, 10:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

oh yeah, the blaster virus
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-02-2004, 10:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 764
Send a message via AIM to True_Orb
Default

It just restarts.

I don't think it's cooling, he has better fan setup than I do and I never get that. If the Blaster virus does that then I guess that could be it.

I don't think he has antivirus software
__________________

__________________
I argue with people on internet message boards.
Don\'t copy dat floppy!

--------------
Gigabyte GA-7DX(R) DualBIOS/A-bit KV8-Pro
AMD Duron 1.313GHZ/AMD 64 3000+ 2.0 GHZ
512 DDR266/1024 OCZ DDR (3200)
Chaintech GeForce 3 128mb/eVGA 6800GT 256mb
400 watt Powmax/530 watt Fortron
40.9GB 94098U8/80gb SATA
Maxtor DiamondMax/Seagate Barricuda
AOpen KF45A modded case
True_Orb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.