Is it possible to use BASH on Windows? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-11-2004, 02:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 60
Default Is it possible to use BASH on Windows?

I ask cause I heard that it was possible. Thanks in advanced for the replies.
__________________

Fabyfakid is offline  
Old 11-11-2004, 03:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 973
Send a message via Yahoo to intercodes
Default

Fabyfakid,

BASH is an interpreter between the user and the kernel. Now windows kernel is not the same as linux kernel. Its Different.And interpretation of the commands in windows and linux are not any close to each other.

Thou you can find an emulator for BASH that works in windows[A DOS program], you cannot really BASH around in windows.

Yea I tried that emulator ,you can only execute basic commands, some 20 to 30 odd bash commands can be executed.

Sign
Codes
__________________

intercodes is offline  
Old 11-11-2004, 10:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 60
Default

Thanks for the reply, appreciate it. I was aware of the difference between both kernels. But due to the huge advances of the open source community, and the fact that there are now "open" DOS operating systems (excuse me for being redundant), like ReactOS, that BASH could be modified to be compatible with at least the 9X Windows, even though MS keeps its source tighly closed.
Fabyfakid is offline  
Old 11-11-2004, 11:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Bamberg, Germany
Posts: 549
Send a message via ICQ to Iron_Cross Send a message via MSN to Iron_Cross Send a message via Yahoo to Iron_Cross
Default

Would Cygwin be like what you're looking for?
Also, you could use vmWare to install *nix on your windows partion....then you're able to use bash on that partion without completely installing *nix or screwing with windows....Just some thoughts.
__________________

See today\'s Penny-Arcade!(May contain foul lanuage)
Pain is weakness leaving the body.

PM Me for my MSN
Iron_Cross is offline  
Old 11-12-2004, 01:10 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 973
Send a message via Yahoo to intercodes
Default

Quote:
iron_cross: Would Cygwin be like what you're looking for?

Nope, Thats not possible. Cygwin is just an linux api emulator. It enables the look and feel of a linux environment in Windows.Btw dont ever try cygwin, it sux.
Vmware cant do it too...It can boot linux in windows. thats it

Sign
codes
intercodes is offline  
Old 11-12-2004, 11:18 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Windows 9x OS's still ran with a DOS shell, that's why. Newer versions, namely XP and 2003, don't have true DOS, so BASH can't really work as you want it to. Even when it does, it's not really, because for the DOS command prompt in Xp and 2003, your command-line executions are being interpreted by a "middleman" Windows process. (In essence, a Windows app acting like a DOS emulator, but not...)
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.