Possible to update Bios without Floppy? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-09-2008, 01:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Corrupt Techie
 
aetherh4cker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 752
Default Possible to update Bios without Floppy?

So I was reading the Abit Bios Update Guide and it clearly shows how to update the Bios with a floppy. I was wondering if it's possible to do it without a floppy drive?

I did manage to force it to format my USB flash drive with the "Create an MS-DOS startup disk" option, but it formatted it down to 1.44MB in size, and with the files that were automatically put on, there isn't room to put on the Bios update software.

Here is a list of the files it put on:
DISPLAY.SYS
EGA.CPI
EGA2.CPI
EGA3.CPI
KEYB.BAT
KEYBOARD.SYS
KEYBRD2.SYS
KEYBRD3.SYS
KEYBRD4.SYS
MODE.BAT

This equals to 555KB used already, leaving me with only 868KB free. It seems I need about 1100KB free to fit the Bios update software on there, and that's assuming it will even boot from the USB flash drive.

So I'm really looking for some sort of alternative here, thanks!
__________________

__________________
aetherh4cker is offline  
Old 01-09-2008, 01:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Possible to update Bios without Floppy?

what the mobo's name?

I had a similar issue with my gigabyte board last night. I had upgrade my processor to an amd anthlon fx 6000 and the mobo would not recognize it. gigabyte instruction said copy the files to a win 98 floppy. the files wouldn't fit on it. I copied it to a xp startup floppy and it worked

try format the floppy copy all of the files to the usb drive, then try adding the files .
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 01-09-2008, 01:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Corrupt Techie
 
aetherh4cker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 752
Default Re: Possible to update Bios without Floppy?

I have the Abit IP35.

... and I don't fully understand your post. What exactly do you want me to do...? Keep in mind, I have no floppy drive at all.
__________________
aetherh4cker is offline  
Old 01-09-2008, 02:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: Possible to update Bios without Floppy?

what is the size of your flash drive
I believe your size limit is only assumed...meaning those files you have now you can copy...then format the flash drive normally, freeing up whatever it actually has...then copy back those boot files and the bios image.

I am assuming the above would work, but not sure.

then you have to make sure the biot device is boot capable as well as your mobo having usb boot ability
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 01-09-2008, 02:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Corrupt Techie
 
aetherh4cker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 752
Default Re: Possible to update Bios without Floppy?

The motherboard *said* could boot from USB, but it turns out my current bios version was bugged and wouldn't boot from USB.

What I ended up doing is using Ultra ISO to take an image of a bootable floppy disk and adding my bios update files to the image. Then with Nero I was able to burn the floppy disk image to a cd-r.

I was a little nervous, because if it wanted to write to the cd-r for some reason while updating the bios, it wouldn't be able to... but all went well.

I'm now running on the latest bios and my double boot issue is fixed.
__________________
aetherh4cker is offline  
Old 01-09-2008, 08:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Possible to update Bios without Floppy?

I had just got back from my daugther basketball game. I had used nero burning rom to make a bootable cd.

oh well,
I see you don't need it now
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Update BIOS on older Compaq PC tonyisnt Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-23-2007 11:39 PM
Best way to update BIOS? Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-12-2007 03:15 PM
update bios rebell07 Overclocking and Modding 2 08-29-2007 02:09 AM
Dell D820 Bios Update BubbaGump69 Microsoft Windows and Software 1 04-23-2007 08:00 PM
update bios Nick Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 04-01-2007 07:42 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.