Is it possible to open folders on XP using another username?(folder permissions) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-11-2006, 06:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 507
Default Is it possible to open folders on XP using another username?(folder permissions)

Hi,
Is it possible to open a folder on xp using another username???

(just as you would open a file by using the Run As command)

I am askign because...I am an Admin on my pc...but my sisters account is a limited one...

Now I have limited access to some of my files and folders using File Permission...some can't be accessed at all...and some can only be read...

Is there any way I can open or access these foldes when I am logged in as her, without the need to log out and then log in as mysefl????


Thanx in advance...
__________________

__________________

3.4GHz i5 3570K / Asus P8Z77-V LE / 8 GB RAM / 120 GB SSD / 3 TB HD / 2 TB NAS
AMD Radeon HD 6850 1GB / Cooler Master CM 690 II Advanced / 32" Samsung LCD
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
13" MacBook Air (mid-2012) / 2.0 GHz Core i7 / 256 GB SSD / 8 GB RAM
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Toshiba Satellite M645 / Intel Core i3 2.53GHz / 4 GB RAM / Win 7 Ultimate X64
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Sony VAIO VGN-CS320J / Intel Core 2 Duo 2.1Ghz / 4 GB RAM / Win 7 Ultimate X64
Rawan AbuSalman is offline  
Old 08-11-2006, 07:54 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

Unless you give her permission then No, thats the whole point. Atleast so far as I know.
__________________

__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 08-11-2006, 08:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 507
Default

thanx for your reply...

Ya, I know that's the whole point...but me, as an administrator, have the right to access the folders....what I meant was what if she was logged in and I had to give her a file or something...instead of logging out and in as myself, isn't there any way I can enter my username and pass and temperoraly access the files?? (just as you would do a Runs As command on a file, but that doesn't work on folders!)

Thanx again...
__________________

3.4GHz i5 3570K / Asus P8Z77-V LE / 8 GB RAM / 120 GB SSD / 3 TB HD / 2 TB NAS
AMD Radeon HD 6850 1GB / Cooler Master CM 690 II Advanced / 32" Samsung LCD
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
13" MacBook Air (mid-2012) / 2.0 GHz Core i7 / 256 GB SSD / 8 GB RAM
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Toshiba Satellite M645 / Intel Core i3 2.53GHz / 4 GB RAM / Win 7 Ultimate X64
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Sony VAIO VGN-CS320J / Intel Core 2 Duo 2.1Ghz / 4 GB RAM / Win 7 Ultimate X64
Rawan AbuSalman is offline  
Old 08-11-2006, 03:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

Is it the runas command you're looking for? i'm not sure.

Edit: oh yeah, you said that... I don't know then.

Can't you use runas to launch explorer with your admin account? or won't that work?
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 08-12-2006, 07:08 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 507
Default

Nops...I tried that...didnt work!! (although there is a Run Command when you right click Explorer!!)
__________________

3.4GHz i5 3570K / Asus P8Z77-V LE / 8 GB RAM / 120 GB SSD / 3 TB HD / 2 TB NAS
AMD Radeon HD 6850 1GB / Cooler Master CM 690 II Advanced / 32" Samsung LCD
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
13" MacBook Air (mid-2012) / 2.0 GHz Core i7 / 256 GB SSD / 8 GB RAM
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Toshiba Satellite M645 / Intel Core i3 2.53GHz / 4 GB RAM / Win 7 Ultimate X64
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Sony VAIO VGN-CS320J / Intel Core 2 Duo 2.1Ghz / 4 GB RAM / Win 7 Ultimate X64
Rawan AbuSalman is offline  
Old 08-12-2006, 11:21 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: /usr/root/mn/us
Posts: 1,118
Default

Runas will work. There are two ways to do this.

1. Right click on Internet Explorer, click on runas. Enter in your administrator credentials. When IE launches, type in my computer in the address bar, and whamo you have a Windows explorer box with your credentials.

2. Open up a command prompt and type this:
Code:
runas.exe /env /user:username "start c:\path to folder\"
Replace username with your administrator account name and replace path to folder with the path to the folder you want to open.
When it prompts enter your administrator account password and you'll be set.
__________________

Its a frigging Laptop, not a Labtop!!!!
bla!! is offline  
Old 08-12-2006, 12:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 507
Default

Thanks alot!!!

That's exactly what I was looking for!!

(Though the second method didnt work!! its giving me 87: The parameter is incorrect!!


than again...
__________________

__________________

3.4GHz i5 3570K / Asus P8Z77-V LE / 8 GB RAM / 120 GB SSD / 3 TB HD / 2 TB NAS
AMD Radeon HD 6850 1GB / Cooler Master CM 690 II Advanced / 32" Samsung LCD
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
13" MacBook Air (mid-2012) / 2.0 GHz Core i7 / 256 GB SSD / 8 GB RAM
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Toshiba Satellite M645 / Intel Core i3 2.53GHz / 4 GB RAM / Win 7 Ultimate X64
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Sony VAIO VGN-CS320J / Intel Core 2 Duo 2.1Ghz / 4 GB RAM / Win 7 Ultimate X64
Rawan AbuSalman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.