Possible Memory Leak - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-14-2007, 09:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 16
Exclamation Possible Memory Leak

For some time now, my computer have exhibited some strange symptoms. After running for some time w/out a reboot (3/4 a day to a day) it begins to run incredibly slow and programs will take ages (if ever) to load. Some times it doesn't even have to run long at all, within just starting it up it'll begin to slow down. It seems that if I try to multi-task, it starts up these problems. I've had the computer for over 2 years now and never reformatted and am thinking that it might fix the problem but I'm not sure and that is why I came here.
2.21g AMD processor
Windows XP
2gig ram
256 Geforce 6600
Asus A8G5NX Mobo
__________________

locke0987 is offline  
Old 09-14-2007, 09:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: Possible Memory Leak

well reformatting may just do the trick,but thats not the same thing as a memory leak. What i would do if i were you would be to defragment your hard drive and to run CCleaner to clean the registry. that will probably fix most of your issues.
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 09-14-2007, 10:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Possible Memory Leak

Agreed with zmatt. Especially when you've never reformatted your computer before. During those two years without a reformat, will build up a lot junk, that will slow down a computer.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-14-2007, 11:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 16
Default Re: Possible Memory Leak

Any idea where I can find a registry cleaner that I wouldn't have to pay for? I'm a poor college student -.-.
locke0987 is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 05:31 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Katmandu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Troy, Ohio
Posts: 224
Thumbs up Re: Possible Memory Leak

Quote:
Originally Posted by locke0987 View Post
Any idea where I can find a registry cleaner that I wouldn't have to pay for? I'm a poor college student -.-.
Help yourself! :>)

Index of /apps
Katmandu is offline  
Old 09-20-2007, 05:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 16
Default Re: Possible Memory Leak

Alright, well I did the suggest things and it helped a little bit but I decided that I wanted to reformat anyway but I had a problem.
When I went to reformat my computer, I put my reformat disk in while my computer was running and it started to go through the steps but once I got to where I must create a new partition or select an old one, it would not let me delete my old partition because there were "files in the Windows Temp folder which were required for Windows Reformat" or something to that extent. From there, I couldn't figure out what to do so I stopped but now when ever I start up my computer, it will try to go into the Windows Setup menu.
Help =(
locke0987 is offline  
Old 09-20-2007, 05:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Possible Memory Leak

boot from the cd and install xp from there.
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 09-20-2007, 07:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 16
Default Re: Possible Memory Leak

I've tried that but when I get to the step where I need to delete my old partition and create a new one it tells me that I cannot delete this partition because there are files in the Temp folder required for reformating.
locke0987 is offline  
Old 09-20-2007, 07:42 PM   #9 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Possible Memory Leak

Quote:
Originally Posted by locke0987 View Post
I've tried that but when I get to the step where I need to delete my old partition and create a new one it tells me that I cannot delete this partition because there are files in the Temp folder required for reformating.
that's because you are installing from within windows.

to make it simpler, delete your hdd with powermax then head here

Windows XP Home install from CD
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 09-23-2007, 05:43 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 16
Default Re: Possible Memory Leak

Quote:
Originally Posted by EricB View Post
that's because you are installing from within windows.

to make it simpler, delete your hdd with powermax then head here

Windows XP Home install from CD
I've been trying to delete my hdd w/powermax but all that it is trying to do is clear a 1.44mb diskette.
__________________

locke0987 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Memory Upgrade, computer still slow! bonoz Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 06-20-2007 06:15 PM
Help With Memory Problem AntonOle New Systems | Building and Buying 7 06-15-2007 01:46 PM
Need some help choosing memory before I buy today guitarplyrstevo New Systems | Building and Buying 6 04-02-2007 02:52 AM
Is Vista seeing memory on my 8800GTS 320MB wrong? phexac Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-26-2007 12:03 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.