Possible to install XP ontop of win98? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-01-2005, 02:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 33
Default Possible to install XP ontop of win98?

Without loosing files that are currently on the disk. I dont think it is but a friend is asking me

igotyofire is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 02:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 589
Send a message via AIM to GeckoEcho421 Send a message via Yahoo to GeckoEcho421

You mean a dual-boot system?

If you ever have any questions feel free to email me at dhughes3@gmail.com, I will send you back an email as soon as possible.
<table width=\"100%\" border=\"3\" align=\"default\" cellpadding=\"3\" cellspacing=\"2\" bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"left\"></div><div align=\"left\"><font size=\"2\"><strong><font color=\"brown\" size=\"2\"><marquee behavior=\"alternate\" width=100%><b><font color=#43525F size=\"2\">Goo g l e ||G o o gl e ||G o o gl e</font></b></marquee></font></strong></font></div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><font size=\"1\"><b><font color=#43525F>Mobo: </font></b><font size=\"1\">MSI \"K8N Neo2 Platinum\" <b><font color=#43525F>Chipset: </font></b>nForce3 ULTRA <b><font color=#43525F>CPU: </font></b>AMD Athlon 64 3500+ (Socket 939) <b><font color=#43525F>Physical memory:</font></b> Corsair XMS 1GB(512MBx2) 2-2-2-5 <b><font color=#43525F>Videocard:</font></b> eVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6800 GT<b><font color=#43525F> Soundcard:</font></b> Creative Audigy 2 </font></font><font color=#43525F size=\"1\"><b>Currently running: </font></b><font size=\"1\">XP Pro SP2 </td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\">How much PSU power is enough? </div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\"><a href=\"http://whatpulse.org/stats/users/142979/\"><img src=\"http://whatpulse.afraid.org/sig/GeckoEcho421.png\" border=\"0\"></a></div></td></tr></table>
GeckoEcho421 is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 02:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 33

updating withour reformating the drive or partitioning, not a dual boot
igotyofire is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 02:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 7


A few factors

1) These are the hardware requirements, your install may still work even if some of these are not met but probably not great

Hardware Requirements-

* 233 megahertz (MHz) Pentium or higher microprocessor (or
* 128 megabytes (MB) recommended (64 MB of RAM minimum;
4 gigabytes (GB) of RAM maximum)
* 1.5 GB of free space on your hard disk
* VGA monitor
* Keyboard
* Mouse or compatible pointing device
* CD-ROM or DVD drive

2) If you chose upgrade MS says that it should keep your existing files and application, how accurate this will be with your system I am not sure. As always backup

During an upgrade, the Windows XP Setup Wizard replaces existing
Windows files but preserves your existing settings and applications.
Some applications might not be compatible with Windows XP Professional
and therefore might not function properly after an upgrade. You can
upgrade to Windows XP Professional from the following
operating systems:

* Windows 98 (all versions)
* Windows Millennium Edition
* Windows NT 4.0 Workstation (Service Pack 6 and later)
* Windows 2000 Professional (including service packs)
* Windows XP Home Edition

I obtained the info from the readme file which came on the Win XP Professional CD
papaj is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 02:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 33

so usually when u upgrade you just stick in disk i assume while win98 is running and it should say upgrade?
igotyofire is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 05:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Osiris's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris

It should...upgrade or new installation (advanced)

Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:25 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.