Possible to Change Prog in Disc? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Old 08-29-2007, 10:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Default Possible to Change Prog in Disc?

I am not a techie so gotta ask a question - I paid $299 for software and it installed on my PC's but not my Mac The mac has some problem starting it. I figured it was because I installed it already on the other PC's but then was like, dhu- why a product key then and how could you change the prog on the disc to detect multi-installations.

So , I can re-sell this disc and get few bucks back or is there some freaky tec thing I'm unaware of where I cant hock this off cuz it wont install?

Old 08-29-2007, 11:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
Default Re: Possible to Change Prog in Disc?

If it requires a key or activation you are probably limited to how many times it can be installed and activated. Your best hope would be to call them and tell them you got a new computer and need to reinstall the software. Selling the disk would be doing the buyer a disservice because he couldn't activate the product.

Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
Old 08-29-2007, 11:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
Default Re: Possible to Change Prog in Disc?

No you cant just re-sell it. Cause you already used the serial for your install. If they try to isntall they will get a error message saying the serial is already in use. So they go to tech support and try to get it activated and cant. Cause you already have it.