Is it possible to change 'integrated windows authentication' - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-27-2006, 02:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default Is it possible to change 'integrated windows authentication'

As title says really. I have managed to remove it, which will do for now, but I really need to have one there.

I am using Windows XP Pro.

Thanks for your help.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 09-27-2006, 04:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Just curious why you need to remove/change it
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 09-27-2006, 04:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

I removed it because I needed to have shared folders and it asked for login and password on other PC, so I removed it. I want to re enable it and set it so when I run my FTP or password protected folders on HTTP I can then enter my username for my PC and have a password. Right now it is just username - not very secure.

- I probally attacked these problems the wrong way, but it was a quick fix I need to fix properly now.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 09-28-2006, 02:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

OK, when I try to login, it adds the IP address before the username, so then doesn't get accepted. How am I meant to log on externally?

- I want to have a couple of folders for me to access externally but not any one else.

A bit OT but included in this content is a little bit of copy writted material. Is it illegal to have it on the 'server' behind a password?
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.