POS computer - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-06-2005, 02:07 AM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782

older compaq's and hp's do not have conventional bios's. They were very proprietory in the dark ages......

Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 01-06-2005, 10:19 AM   #12 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
TheMajor's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177

I don't think there are floppies for Drive Image7. You can boot from the disc.

You can also make an image of your windows drive without rebooting, while running XP. (256MB memory required)

That game should run in Windows95, but you could always try from DOS.

TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 01-06-2005, 10:56 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 20

k i took the cmos jumper out last night and just tried it a few minutes ago, it got to the screen that says 64 mb ok, looking for 162 bit windows or something like that and then it rebooted up but went back to the compaq screen, i let it sit there for about 5 minutes before rebooting and messing around with it again, am i waiting long enough or does it have to sit for like an hour before it does anything, after this didn't work i took the cmos jumper out again and waited about 5 minutes before i tried it again but this time it didn't come to the 64 mb screen it went straight to the compaq screen,

one time it came to the 64 mb i hit escape and selected the one time boot up but that didn't work, so this time i just let it run and it also didn't work

wayne- i don't know the specs for my system but its not that old only 4 yrs ,of course lots of technology has been created since then, i do know that it has 256 mem and a 40 gb hard drive
its a compaq model 510n i think

wes74 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:47 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.