Ports - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-10-2006, 11:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
Yek
T.F's Resident Cool Guy...
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,613
Send a message via AIM to Yek Send a message via MSN to Yek Send a message via Yahoo to Yek
Default Ports

hey here is what i want to do , open up a port number on my pc so i can access a system folder ec c:\Shared ill only need to put a few files in and i have a static , how would i go about this (and no i dont want a link to free file hosting thanks:P)
__________________

Yek is offline  
Old 12-10-2006, 11:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

FTP, VNC, Logmein
__________________

__________________

Law is offline  
Old 12-10-2006, 12:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

exactly whaat folder do you need to access. Some system folders you can access like that unless you use a program like vnc. You can share the folder out if the computers are networked.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-10-2006, 12:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Yek
T.F's Resident Cool Guy...
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,613
Send a message via AIM to Yek Send a message via MSN to Yek Send a message via Yahoo to Yek
Default

i have logmein software running but im sick of it never being able to access it , i wanted something simple and within my own control
Yek is offline  
Old 12-10-2006, 12:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

if you network the computers together, share them out, type in \\system\iu in the run box you can access them
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-10-2006, 08:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

If the computers are on a LAN, you can use the Microsoft file sharing. If it's over the Internet, I suggest FTP or VNC.

UltraVNC is your best bet.
http://forum.ultravnc.info/viewtopic.php?p=17974

setting up FTP server on XP
http://www.pcstats.com/articleview.cfm?articleID=1491
__________________

__________________

Law is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.