Porting old hard drive into new computer - can I keep all my current data? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-20-2006, 10:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 50
Default Porting old hard drive into new computer - can I keep all my current data?

I plan to port my current hard drive with Windows XP Pro OS on it into my new computer.

I have read that when you install a new motherboard, you must reinstall your OS.

Would this be the same as "installing over" my OS without changing motherboards? For example, any time I reinstalled over my XP Pro OS on my hard drive in my current computer, after having reinstalled XP Pro it would 100% retain my registry, programs, files etc. etc. as they were before the reinstall started. In other words, I didn't lose any data whatsoever.

Or will it be equivalent to formatting my drive if I reinstall the OS with a new motherboard?

If it is the first situation and my data is retained, then would that change if I install a different revision of XP Pro than what I had originally installed onto the hard drive?
__________________

Navaros is offline  
Old 09-20-2006, 11:01 AM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

You can put the old HDD in your new computer and see if it works. Sometimes it does, sometimes it doesn't. I'd say 60%+ chance it will work.

If it doesn't, you can install XP "over" it; your files will be kept, but your Windows profile will be backed up in a new folder called "username.bak" or something; same with your "My documents" folder.

Installing a different version over the old version may not work, except when you are upgrading from Windows ME to XP for example.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-20-2006, 11:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default

that's not entirely true, one of my present hard drives has been in 3 different boxes already. Everytime it booted like nothing happened. If You install a new OS i'd backup everything anyway just to be on the safe side.
__________________
With all due respect John, I am the head of IT and I have it on good authority. If you type "Google" into Google, you can break the Internet. So please, no one try it, even for a joke.........It's not a laughing matter. You can break the Internet.
Bruce is offline  
Old 09-20-2006, 11:04 AM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Bruce
that's not entirely true, one of my present hard drives has been in 3 different boxes already. Everytime it booted like nothing happened. If You install a new OS i'd backup everything anyway just to be on the safe side.
Yea, sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. I used 1 install for 3 systems. Installed on MMX200, moved to P2-400, then moved to AthlonXP 1600+ and it always booted.

If it doesn't work, a checkdisk or repair install often works.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-20-2006, 11:07 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 50
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheMajor


Installing a different version over the old version may not work, except when you are upgrading from Windows ME to XP for example.
What if it's a different version of the same OS?

Ie: Originally I installed Windows XP Pro with no service packs on it, but then I move my hard drive to a computer with a new motherboard and install Windows XP Pro SP2 over that?

Would that lose my data or should it retain the data same as a typical reinstall?
Navaros is offline  
Old 09-20-2006, 11:07 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default

I don't think it'll work if the comp's like a dell or hp. White boxes seem to work mosta the time.
__________________
With all due respect John, I am the head of IT and I have it on good authority. If you type "Google" into Google, you can break the Internet. So please, no one try it, even for a joke.........It's not a laughing matter. You can break the Internet.
Bruce is offline  
Old 09-20-2006, 11:27 AM   #7 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Navaros
What if it's a different version of the same OS?

Ie: Originally I installed Windows XP Pro with no service packs on it, but then I move my hard drive to a computer with a new motherboard and install Windows XP Pro SP2 over that?

Would that lose my data or should it retain the data same as a typical reinstall?
Dunno, maybe it works. Backup your important stuff to CD's or another hard disk, and try upgrading Windows. I presume the version without service packs is a pirated copy, otherwise you could install SP2 using Windows Update.
If your current installation turns out to boot fine in the new system, i would not try to re-install. No need for SP2 except for a few programs, and some security.

I've been using XP Pro without service packs for 4 years and never had a problem.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.