Porgrams going missing? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-15-2005, 02:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 384
Default Porgrams going missing?

I only really noticed this today but Internet Explorer & Outlook Express were moved from my start bar. Outlook Express was also taken off as the default mail client. I also notice my calculater has gone missing from accessories...

I cant find the iexplore.exe and msimn.exe programs anywhere however they still do work...

I'm running Wndows XP...

Any dieas why they are missing?
__________________

Mr. tech is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 02:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

sound like a virus
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 02:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 112
Default

Either that or someone got on and changed things!!
__________________
A+, Net+, Toshiba Copier Tech L1
Working on MCP
pctech86 is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 06:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 384
Default

I ran a virus scan the other day... I also installed the fax program using the windows XP cd... The only other thing I have done is downloaded the latest windows update... I'll do another virus scan now...
Mr. tech is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 07:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 720
Default

Are you the administrator? If so, then I don't know why, but if not, then try logging in under administrator in safe mode, and see if they're there. Someone else (I'm not sure if you're the power user on your computer) may be chaning this, as they might have higher power permissions. Also, what have you changed on your computer lately? Have you installed new programs? etc..

-SkyHi
SkyHi is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 07:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 384
Default

Nope, I'm the admin.... Thanks for the idea though

Like I said

I installed the fax program using the windows XP cd.
I also installed the latest Windows Update...
Mr. tech is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 08:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

Don't trust one A/V, is what i suggest. I'd say to use some free online scans, I trust my avg but not enough to never use online ones. It's free, so why not?
Run a checkdisk. Also the files you are missing can easily be downloaded back to your computer. (google them)
__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 08:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 432
Default

Sounds like someone went into >> add/remove programs >> add/remove windows components and uninstalled some windows accessories from there. Go into the accessory section of >> add/remove windows components and see if the items are checked. If not then they were unistalled. A quick reinstall using your windows disc will fix it.
tribalsun is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 09:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 384
Default

Oh dear... I think I know now... When I installed the fax program it came up with a box listing what programs I could install... I thought I had to untick the ones I didn't want "re-install" (i thought it was re-install anyway).

So do I jsut need to insert my XP CD and tick the porgrams that need to be re-installed?

The ones that aren't ticked are removed from my system if they are installed?

Is that correct?
Mr. tech is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 09:50 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 432
Default

Tick the boxes you want to reinstall, you may be asked for your XP disc. The ones that are already checked should remain.
__________________

tribalsun is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.