PopUps =( - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-05-2005, 06:33 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3
Unhappy PopUps =(

Don¡¦t even remember since when, every time my computer connects to the Internet, many IE windows pop up.

It is bloody annoying. I have tried ¡¥Popup Killer¡¦ but it doesn¡¦t seem to work at all. Anyone can help?!

Thx in advance.
__________________

eliz is offline  
Old 04-05-2005, 06:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Are you running XP?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 04-05-2005, 07:20 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 192
Default

If ur using WinXP...do u have service pack 2 installed ?

if not , i would strongly recommend that u get it , it will set up a firewall for u that would block anything bothering u
weswes is offline  
Old 04-05-2005, 07:33 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

For starter's start running a bunch of adware and spyware cleaner's,More than likely you have a bunch of crap on your computer.
Shumway is offline  
Old 04-05-2005, 09:37 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks for the very swift replies.

Nah I'm running WINME not XP.

I already used adware to scan my computer for crap and deleted some high-risk files. Things just did not get better.
eliz is offline  
Old 04-05-2005, 09:41 AM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default

Download Microsoft AntiSpyware. It's free, and you can download it from Microsoft's website.

Go to MajorGeeks and check out pop=up blockers, or download and try Firefox.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 04-05-2005, 01:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Along with downloading Microsoft Anti-Spyware, download SpySweeper. Granted its only a 30 day trial, At least you can scan with all the definitions and remove whatever it finds. Do that then report back to us
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 04-05-2005, 04:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 68
Default

you should download popupcop and zone alarm.., those programs helps a lot , ...and is for free....
http://www.popupcop.com
oileruis is offline  
Old 04-05-2005, 10:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 127
Send a message via AIM to ebayfreak Send a message via Yahoo to ebayfreak
Default

clean out all the adware thats making these popups come up-- ADAWARE!!

http://majorgeeks.com/download.php?det=506
ebayfreak is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 01:18 AM   #10 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default

He's already used AdAware, but is still getting the pop-ups.

Eliz, post back how things are going, and if your problem has been resolved. If it hasn't, we can still try to figure it out...
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.