popups - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-21-2004, 04:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default popups

Hi
I recently installed norton antivirus on my mahcine, but before i could do that, some program has installed some sort of popup, whenever i access the net, i get the popup, which on closing spawns(?) another one and it goes in a cycle.

I checked antivirus updates, it is uptodate, what should i do?
__________________

rookie1010 is offline  
Old 04-21-2004, 06:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

the popups are for some games, and pics
can you suggest a good spyware program?
which would also remove the installed program
__________________

rookie1010 is offline  
Old 04-21-2004, 07:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

Try Spybot S&D .... IT's pretty good
__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 04-21-2004, 07:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 643
Send a message via AIM to anarchy
Default

With the combination of Ad-Aware and Spybot: Search and Destroy, you can pretty much weed out all pop up causing spyware.

http://anarchyware.tk CLICK FREEWARE AND LOOK FOR THOSE PROGRAMS

Placebo also has them.
__________________


Search TF!
<form method=\"get\" action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form></small></font></p></p>
anarchy is offline  
Old 04-21-2004, 11:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 26
Default

do you reccomend using both of these programs to remove spyware? ive been using ad-aware for about year.. alone.. seems fine... if i ran ad-aware and then ran another program such as bazooka or spybot after, it would pick up some that adaware left behind?

also...
i have been having to fix my familys computer.. they have 3 Users on their computer... it seems as though i have to go through ALL 3 USERS one at a time and remove all spyware and then run virus scans....

another problem with the 3 users is as follows... when i installed adaware on User 1, user 2 & 3 didnt have the program installed.. just had to install it on all 3... any reason? i dont know much about users as my computer only has my own so i dont have to deal with that bul**** login ****
kaa312 is offline  
Old 04-21-2004, 11:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 643
Send a message via AIM to anarchy
Default

Ad-Aware gets MOST of the spyware that can be found on a computer. Spybot cleans up whatever ad-aware might of missed, vice versa. They're both reletively small programs so why not?

As for the users problem.

I have only one user too, so I don't know much about 'em. I do know this, that if you install a program on the "admin" account, I'm pretty positive it saves it on the harddrive, and then you just have to go looking for it on C:/ when you desire to get in on the other users program files. Hope that helps.
__________________


Search TF!
<form method=\"get\" action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form></small></font></p></p>
anarchy is offline  
Old 04-22-2004, 09:47 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3
Default

The new update of Ad-Aware is pretty smooth.
Slimeball is offline  
Old 04-22-2004, 09:58 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 48
Default

I am running MS XP Pro SP2 RC1 with updates. The pop up blocker built into the is pretty friggen awesome. So I can tell you as soon as MS Officially releases it, its going to be crap
__________________
Intel Pentium IV 2.7GHZ with Hyper Thread, 4 Western Digital 120GB HDD, 1 Maxtor 60GB HDD, VisonTek GeForce 4MX 440, SBLive! Value, TDK 440N DVDRW, Memorex 52X CDRW, Lian Li Aluminum Case, Too Many Fanes, and Not enough POWER!!!

2001 Toyota MRS
Oo DaRk StAr oO is offline  
Old 04-22-2004, 02:06 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

where did you get SP2 and what is RC1?

i am not sure if i have downloaded all the updates for my older machine, i will do that and see what happens
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 04-22-2004, 02:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

Sp2 = Service Pack 2

RC1 = Release Candidate 1

U can download it Here
__________________

__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.