Pop up stopper help!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-16-2004, 12:01 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 8
Angry Pop up stopper help!!!

Hey im not good with computer but i am getting a lot of pop ups i was wondering what i could do to get rid of them what program to use or where to get it?? Please help!!!!!!!

sdpuck is offline  
Old 07-16-2004, 12:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007

you have several options, some are free, some are trial, some work well, some don't. If you don't mind the additional toolbar, google has one with their google toolbar. Personally I have one called PopupBlock (one word) and it works sooooo well. Especially when I go to sights that.....eehhhhmmmm....well lets just say that it works when I go there.

jaksback is offline  
Old 07-16-2004, 02:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 617

Hi sdpuck

This will take the load off of your popup blocker and catch some that your popup blocker sometimes misses. it takes no resources its a runonce application



IE-Spyad Tutorial

AdAware | Spybot S&D 1.4 | spyware guard & spyware blaster |

How did I get infected in the first place By Tony Klein

If you use IE I suggest using thes two programs IE Hosts & IE-SPYAD

Lobos is offline  
Old 07-17-2004, 01:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 808
Default popup

xp sp2 has popup blocker
derrmc is offline  
Old 07-17-2004, 02:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807

sdpuck, I hear from many users that Google's search tool bar (which you can D/L free at their site) has a pop-up blocker built in and it does a great job.

I used to use the one mentioned by MicroBell... then i found another one called Pop Up manager or something like that... I can't remember which site I got it from... but i like it's a bit better... if i can remember the site... i'll post it here.
Lone Wolf is offline  
Old 07-17-2004, 03:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 76
Send a message via AIM to poipo

run adaware

then use firefox

AMD Athlon XP Barton 2800+
Gigabyte GA-7N400-L
ATI AIW Radeon 9700
Crucial 512 pc 3200
Maxtor 80 GB w/ 8meg cache
PD 4x Dual Format DVD burner
52x CD burner

Dual booted with WinXP Pro and Fedora Core 2
poipo is offline  
Old 07-17-2004, 04:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2

yup, firefox would be good. I use another mozilla, netscape 7.1, never seen a popup.

armory is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:14 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.