POOR Gaming Performance! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-31-2004, 01:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 48
Default POOR Gaming Performance!

Hello peeps,

Latley I have been experiencing very poor graphics and gaming performance and I really havent a clue what it is. I have just formatted my hard drive and installed XP Home.

My drive isnt fragged and i havent got any spyware or junk anywhere, no suspicious background processes. Its fresh.

I have also increased my paging file size:

Intial Size: 576mb
Max Size: 576mb

Is this going to boost performace in any way? What effect does this paging file do ... ?! I read that it acted as virtual RAM ... ?

Here are my specs :

Intel Celeron 4A 2.8GHz
64Mb ATi 7000 IGP
192Mb DDR SDRAM
NTFS 40Gb uncompressed hard drive


What could I do to improve gaming performance?

I am aiming to get to boost my RAM up to a Gig, would that help?

Cheers, Delboy

Any replies are more than grateful
__________________

Delboy :) is offline  
Old 10-31-2004, 01:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

well the Graphics card is part of the problem, but only having 192MB of ram is the real problem. XP uses 128 just to run, on most systems, and running games these days reccomend like 256 min. I would say get more memory and see how that helps. The video card would be next in line though. The Virtual memory is not going to be your problem for the moment. Your real memory will be...

good luck
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Old 10-31-2004, 02:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

What do you expect as far as gaming performance with a Celeron processor and an ATI Radeon 7000 Integrated? With a setup like that, upgrading to 1GB would be pretty much useless. What games are you wanting to play?
beedubaya is offline  
Old 10-31-2004, 05:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 48
Default

Like, I have trouble running SOF2!

Whats wrong with a celeron? I kno they dont process that quick, but I heard that my 2.8ghz celeron is the the equivelent to a 2.4ghz P4.

Thanks for your replies tho guys!
Delboy :) is offline  
Old 10-31-2004, 05:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 48
Default

Oh also, what graphics card shud I get?

Oh and by the way i didnt mention before that Im using a laptop, is that part of the problem?
Delboy :) is offline  
Old 10-31-2004, 05:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

That would limit the ability to upgrade. Then you would have to get a new laptop or a new pc.
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 10-31-2004, 06:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 48
Default

Yeah, im lookin at some new desktops. There alot cheaper.
What do you reckon, a P4 or AMD Athlon Processor?
Delboy :) is offline  
Old 10-31-2004, 06:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

AMD is superior for gaming. You are far better off though having your PC custom built than buying from places like Dell/HP/Compaq.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 10-31-2004, 06:37 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 48
Default

Is it possible to change processors? Like, on laptops?
Delboy :) is offline  
Old 10-31-2004, 06:53 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

yes, but it's limited. You have to find our first if the Processor is integrated or not, then what options for upgrading there are. Most of these are based on the socket and the chipset the machine are built on...
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.