Please help, XP won't Boot - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-01-2008, 09:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lubbock, TX
Posts: 142
Send a message via AIM to Niverive Send a message via MSN to Niverive Send a message via Yahoo to Niverive
Default Please help, XP won't Boot

So I turned my computer off last night when I went to bed, everything was working fine, then when I woke up this morning I turned it on and the computer shut off when booting windows normally, I tried changing several things in BIOS to no avail, always shuts off around the same time frame when booting up windows normally. It boots up safe mode without a problem, but won't run normally, I tried running a spyware scan and an AVG scan, the only thing I got is...

File--------Result/Infection-------Path
Boot sector of disk-------Readng error------C:

I saw that and tried to run a chkdsk but during the chkdsk it shuts off as well, someone please help me fix this.
__________________

__________________
OS: Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit
MOBO: ASUS M3N72-D (AM2+ Socket) CPU: AMD Phenom II 965 x4 Memory: 2GBx2 800 DDR2 Ram
HDD: 320GB (298GB) WDC WD3200AAKS SATA HDD2: 1TB WDC WD1001FALS SATA
Video: 8600GT OC Sound: SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 750W
Niverive is offline  
Old 03-01-2008, 01:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default Re: Please help, XP won't Boot

BitDefender Free Edition for MS DOS download and review - anti-virus scanner for Dos from SnapFiles

Try to run a virus scanning utility from the Dos command and see if that clears things up for you.
__________________

sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 03-01-2008, 03:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Please help, XP won't Boot

Go thru Osiris's guide in the Virst section of the forum. Most of that has to be run from Safe Mode anyways. Should help clear up your infection.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-02-2008, 12:25 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lubbock, TX
Posts: 142
Send a message via AIM to Niverive Send a message via MSN to Niverive Send a message via Yahoo to Niverive
Default Re: Please help, XP won't Boot

Whats the chance its just an infection and not say a hardware issue, I installed the Freezer 64 Pro on my CPU a few days ago it worked fine, made my computer run cooler almost 2 days later my computer smells really bad when I run it, not sure how to explain it, then I turned it off for about an hour turned it back on ran fine but still smelled, turned it off that night, then the next morning won't boot windows normally. It doesn't smell like a burn smell, maybe some kind of chemical or something. But since all I messed with was the CPU HSF, I don't think it could be a CPU problem if it loads windows normally could it? Meh this is so frustrating...
__________________
OS: Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit
MOBO: ASUS M3N72-D (AM2+ Socket) CPU: AMD Phenom II 965 x4 Memory: 2GBx2 800 DDR2 Ram
HDD: 320GB (298GB) WDC WD3200AAKS SATA HDD2: 1TB WDC WD1001FALS SATA
Video: 8600GT OC Sound: SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 750W
Niverive is offline  
Old 03-02-2008, 12:41 AM   #5 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Please help, XP won't Boot

Burning TP?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 03-02-2008, 12:43 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lubbock, TX
Posts: 142
Send a message via AIM to Niverive Send a message via MSN to Niverive Send a message via Yahoo to Niverive
Default Re: Please help, XP won't Boot

Its not running that hot, I thought maybe the smell was just the TP curing, because it didn't smell the almost 2 days after I put the HSF on
__________________
OS: Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit
MOBO: ASUS M3N72-D (AM2+ Socket) CPU: AMD Phenom II 965 x4 Memory: 2GBx2 800 DDR2 Ram
HDD: 320GB (298GB) WDC WD3200AAKS SATA HDD2: 1TB WDC WD1001FALS SATA
Video: 8600GT OC Sound: SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 750W
Niverive is offline  
Old 03-02-2008, 01:09 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lubbock, TX
Posts: 142
Send a message via AIM to Niverive Send a message via MSN to Niverive Send a message via Yahoo to Niverive
Default Re: Please help, XP won't Boot

Ok I started running the programs like in his guide, when I started runningAVG Spyware Scan it shut off on me again in safe mode, but now it won't even turn on cept for a few seconds, did I just lose another PSU? Or something else, maybe its what that smell was...idk...I'm gonna try a spare PSU I have that I ran on when my first PSU died, I'll post results in a little bit
__________________
OS: Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit
MOBO: ASUS M3N72-D (AM2+ Socket) CPU: AMD Phenom II 965 x4 Memory: 2GBx2 800 DDR2 Ram
HDD: 320GB (298GB) WDC WD3200AAKS SATA HDD2: 1TB WDC WD1001FALS SATA
Video: 8600GT OC Sound: SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 750W
Niverive is offline  
Old 03-02-2008, 01:30 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lubbock, TX
Posts: 142
Send a message via AIM to Niverive Send a message via MSN to Niverive Send a message via Yahoo to Niverive
Default Re: Please help, XP won't Boot

I tried another PSU that worked before, I took my PCI-E card out cause it would be too much for this other PSU, so I plug it all in and turn it on the thing still keeps turning off it will stay on if the 4 pin CPU connector isn't plugged into the MOBO, of course nothing really happens, when I plug that cord in tho it turns off after around 10 seconds, wtf do I do now.
__________________
OS: Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit
MOBO: ASUS M3N72-D (AM2+ Socket) CPU: AMD Phenom II 965 x4 Memory: 2GBx2 800 DDR2 Ram
HDD: 320GB (298GB) WDC WD3200AAKS SATA HDD2: 1TB WDC WD1001FALS SATA
Video: 8600GT OC Sound: SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 750W
Niverive is offline  
Old 03-02-2008, 01:37 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lubbock, TX
Posts: 142
Send a message via AIM to Niverive Send a message via MSN to Niverive Send a message via Yahoo to Niverive
Default Re: Please help, XP won't Boot

Ok so I was able to get it to show stuff on screen then it shut off, and then a little later I was able to get into BIOS and then it shut off a few seconds later, I guess there is the very small possibility this PSU is messed up too but is there any other reason this could be happening?

This might need to be moved to hardware problem section now, someone please help me I'm gonna try calling the computer place I got it from hopefully they will fix it, but it might be easier if I can narrow it down to what the problem is
__________________
OS: Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit
MOBO: ASUS M3N72-D (AM2+ Socket) CPU: AMD Phenom II 965 x4 Memory: 2GBx2 800 DDR2 Ram
HDD: 320GB (298GB) WDC WD3200AAKS SATA HDD2: 1TB WDC WD1001FALS SATA
Video: 8600GT OC Sound: SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 750W
Niverive is offline  
Old 03-02-2008, 06:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lubbock, TX
Posts: 142
Send a message via AIM to Niverive Send a message via MSN to Niverive Send a message via Yahoo to Niverive
Default Re: Please help, XP won't Boot

Any ideas before I make a phone call tomorrow and possibly put a bunch more money into fixing a new computer
__________________

__________________
OS: Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit
MOBO: ASUS M3N72-D (AM2+ Socket) CPU: AMD Phenom II 965 x4 Memory: 2GBx2 800 DDR2 Ram
HDD: 320GB (298GB) WDC WD3200AAKS SATA HDD2: 1TB WDC WD1001FALS SATA
Video: 8600GT OC Sound: SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 750W
Niverive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
P5K Premium "Proper Boot Device/Insert Boot Media" s-patrol Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-02-2007 12:37 AM
Multiple boot J9Darkwing Linux and Open Source 4 11-18-2007 04:55 PM
Boot order question AceWriter System Upgrades 0 10-13-2007 12:29 PM
Windows boot nightmare. squirrellym Microsoft Windows and Software 3 10-06-2007 12:12 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.