Please help a noob!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-08-2003, 12:30 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to frenzy
Default Please help a noob!!

I recently bought a used laptop from a local guy, but after using it for about a month without any problems I was looking for a way to erase everything, and start from the scratch fresh again just like when I bought it.
I remember that my old compaq came with a factory restore CD, and all I had to do was..just pop the CD in, and it took care of the rest. Within 30min I would have a fresh setup again.
This laptop only came with windows xp professional(academic version)CD, and a driver CD.
I tried, and tried, to restore it back but no luck.. so I kinda got frustrated, and just decided to pop the windows xp CD and reinstall the window.. I noticed that there is 1 partition already in use, and 1 partition that was free but with only 8mb.
I tried to delete the partition that was already in use, but it would not let me delete it. I tried to delete the partition that was not in use but it would not let me delete either, or create since the one that is not in use has 8mb.
I just went ahead, and chose the partition that was already in use to reinstall the window since that was the only partition that would let me do anything.
After couple of warning notices..it started to install the window.
After everything was done..the window restarted, and .... it changed for the worst. I can't hear any sound, it won't even detect my modem anymore.. and all the files are still there, and most of them are not in working condition.
I retried what I said above again to see if it was going to change anything, and it surely did.
This time error notice would come on with a blue background, and it would automatically restart my comp. If I start my window in anything other than safe mode than it would show the error, and restart.
Gosh.. I am so frustrated right now

Can someone please help me bring my laptop back in right state..
__________________

frenzy is offline  
Old 11-08-2003, 02:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

that 8MB is reserved for converting a basic NTFS disk into a dynamic disk. you cannot delete it normally, just ignore it..i mean 8MB is not worth getting stressed over. none of your devices work because you have no drivers installed for them.

i think what you did was a install of winXP over the old winXP, that may be why you still see old files. redo the install except this time delete all partitions (D, & L commands) and create a new partition (C). format your newly created partition with 'Full format, NTFS' options.

go through the rest of the winXP setup and after that is done find & install the drivers for your devices on the driver CD.
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Old 11-08-2003, 02:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to frenzy
Default

What I did was I went into BIO and made it boot from the CD, and that gave me an option to delete the partition and start a new one.
When I just started regularly, and popped the install CD in.. it would not let me delete the partitions.
Now everything is working, and as of matter of fact the xp is installing while I'm typing(on my compaq)as of right now.

You said to install the drivers for my modem, and soundcard?
Is there a website where I can DL everything I need from?

Thanks
frenzy is offline  
Old 11-08-2003, 02:42 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

look around on the driver CD that you have. if you cannot find it on there read the make/ model of your laptop, example: compaq presario 3540. search for the manufacturer's website using google.com . look on that website and download your drivers for that laptop. this is the most common way.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 11-08-2003, 04:39 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

restore CD's are not very good to use, especially if you change your hardware, and also the software on it can get out of date.
what are the specs of the computer you are reinstalling?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-08-2003, 07:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to frenzy
Default

Not too fancy..
256 ram, PIII, 700mhz, 30gigs,
Ashton Digital passport 2000
Windows XP Professional.

Is it true that upgrade for laptop's are limited?
I want to upgrade to P4, 2ghz-up.
I know that I can upgrade ram, and HD, but what about upgrading to P4??

What are my options?
frenzy is offline  
Old 11-09-2003, 01:55 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

laptops are only limited by hardware (because they have to cram it in a small case) but they are totally upgradable, replacing the CPU won't be a big deal (appart from $)
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.