Please Help with MS WORD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-02-2007, 02:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Default Please Help with MS WORD

I am a medical transcriptionist. I am wanting to upgrade from MS 2000 Word to 2003. My concern is that I have a lot of information stored in my auto correct / quick word. This is information to save me time and increase my production. I need to find out how I can transfer this to a new Word program without having to re-enter all of my information.
Thank you in advance for any and all help.

tjm001 is offline  
Old 01-02-2007, 03:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Osiris's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris

I'm sure there is a way to do this but havent found out how to do so yet, I'll see what I can find

Osiris is offline  
Old 01-03-2007, 06:36 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3

I would greatly appreciate anything you can find out. I really would prefer not to re-enter all my information. It is a lot of extra work, but I am in need of an upgrade. My word program locks up quite frequently, saying Word has encounter an error and must close. needless to say i have lost some information when this happens, so i am hoping to fix this as well. . Thanks again for any help you can provide.
tjm001 is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 08:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 40

Not sure if this will help but in Word 2003 and Word XP on Win XP I believe everything to be stored in a global template called "" located in "\Documents and Settings\"username"\Application Data\Microsoft\Templates". I used it to transfer autotext from one computer to another on my network. Before you do an upgrade I would recommend trying it on someone else's computer with 2003 first to make sure it works. If the file exists on 2000 you can test it by copying it to another location and then renaming the original to (or anything other than for that matter) Word should create a new normal template when booted that will not contain any of your auto text
Fear leads to anger ... Anger leads to stress ... Stress leads to doobies ... and doobies lead to twinkies
Leady4 is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 09:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3

Thank you, I have an extra / backup computer, I will download 2003 and then if i can follow you instructions. Thanks again. .
tjm001 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:29 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.