PLEASE HELP...Blank Desktop!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-27-2003, 08:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 5
Default PLEASE HELP...Blank Desktop!!

I have the same problem...when i went to upgrade my direct x and restarted my computer, everything was gone. No taskbar, no folders, no start menu, no shortcuts...nothing. IT'S A BLANK DESKTOP! When I right click the Desktop area...still nothing. I'm running Windows XP Professional w/SP1. I did boot in Safe Mode and restored to an earlier date and still nothing. I did forget to mention that when Windows does load...the only thing that appear it an Internet Explorer pop-up that allows me tomanually put in places I would like to go as far as me going to certain places on my computer and on the internet.

Please help!

Thanks in advance


EDIT: Only when I'm in administrative mode I have the problem with the blank desktop. If I'm a normal user...all is fine. Is there a way to solve this?
__________________

slicebogey is offline  
Old 11-27-2003, 07:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 5
Default

Anyone?
__________________

slicebogey is offline  
Old 11-28-2003, 10:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 5
Default How do I get to the %SystemRoot% folder?

Do I eventually want to get to this C:\ for the %SystemRoot% folder?

Quote:
Originally posted by MicroBell
Try this... To fix the problem, perform the following steps:

Press [Ctrl][Alt][Delete] to open Task Manager.
Select File | New Task (Run).
Type cmd and press [Enter] to open the command prompt.
Change to the %SystemRoot% folder.
Type ren shdocvw.dll shdocvw.old to change the name of the old DLL file.
Restart the computer.

This should prevent the file from interfering with the shell or Explorer.exe and allow the system to boot normally. If your system appears to hang on boot and displays a blank desktop or no desktop at all, search for older DLL files in the root folder and perform these steps before resorting to a complete reinstall.
slicebogey is offline  
Old 11-29-2003, 12:09 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 5
Default Update!!!

After hours of enabling and disabling in MSCONFIG...this is what I found out.

When I go to msconfig and go to the Services Tab...with these things check I get the blank desktop:

DCHP
Network DDE
Network DDE DSDM
Net Logon
Network Connections
Network Location Awareness (NLA)

How can I fix these?

Thanks
slicebogey
slicebogey is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.