Please Help!!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-19-2005, 10:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 20
Default Please Help!!!!

I posted this earlier and no one would respond. I have a laptop and when i turn it on it does a memory test and this error occurs: Memory Error at 0094 : 0000 : 0268h ( R : 0000h, W : 4949h )


Here are some specs on the laptop:


ACER Travelmate 340
Pentium III 450 MHZ
6.4 GIG Hard Drive
192 MB Memory


Will someone please help me.. I really need to get this fixed.. Thanks in advance.
__________________

cashmoney is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 10:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

do not make copies of threads and you did get an answer there it will remain the same you


RUN MEMTEST
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 10:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 20
Default

Ok, how do u run memtest????
cashmoney is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 10:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Neowin.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 633
Default

you need to replace the memory
ECTech is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 11:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 20
Default

Is it difficult to replace the memory on a laptop.. And are u pretty sure that is the problem and what i need to do?
cashmoney is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 12:14 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 479
Default

mmm... you need to check how to replace a hardware on your laptop with your hardware vender (IBM is extremely easy to replace stuff)..

and also check if that'll void your warranty (as alot of action do apparently)..

and yah, it appears to be a memory problem, try googling memtest?
__________________

__________________
lisp hacker :D
running: FreeBSD 5.4 - still learning :D
develop with: SBCL + emacs for lisp, Anjuta IDE +gcc for c, SPE for python..
browse with: opera
furtivefelon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.