Please Help!? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-11-2004, 05:27 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 5
Default

"there are no pins and no jumper.....

....do I have to reboot while completing this circuit?"




Just to clarify, my motherboard has no pins where the pins should be.

ie. do I pop the battery out and try to short the silver dots where the pins should be, and if so, do I have to hold this connection during a reboot or I just do it that one time, pop the battery back in and then reboot?
__________________

needhelpplease is offline  
Old 02-11-2004, 06:31 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 620
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by needhelpplease
ie. do I pop the battery out and try to short the silver dots where the pins should be, and if so, do I have to hold this connection during a reboot or I just do it that one time, pop the battery back in and then reboot?
Nahhh. Just turn off the computer, then unplug it, then take out the small round battery. Wait a few minutes, then reinstall the battery, plug the computer back in and start it up. Bios should be reset to default.
__________________

__________________

CPU - P4 2.4C, 800FSB W/HT - CONSERVATIVELY OC\'ED
MOBO - GIGABYTE GA-8KNXP 2.0 875P CHIPSET/DUAL BIOS VER. FE
RAM - 1GB (2X512) OCZ PC3200 REV 2, 400MHZ 2-3-3 6
VID CARD - ASUS RADEON 9600XT 128MB W/VIVO
FLOPPY - SAMSUNG 1.44M
HDD - MAXTOR 120GB 7200RPM ATA133 EIDE W/8MB BUFFER
DVD - LG GDR8162B 16X IDE DVD ROM
PSU - ENERMAX EG465P-VE FC 460 WATT
VANTEC VP4-C7040 AEROFLOW HS/FAN
5 X VANTEC STEALTH 80MM CASE FANS
Bleep is offline  
Old 02-12-2004, 07:27 AM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks, I'll give that a shot when I get home from work (with all fo the extra cards removed). If that doesn't work, my more computer knowledgeable friend tells me that my motherboard is fried and I should get a new one. Is there anything else you guys would try if this doesn't work?

When I pulled the fan off, I did try to blow some dust out with one of those air in a can things, maybe that screwed something in the motherboard up.

Just an aside, what do you guys think about "preventative maintenance" with that air in a can stuff? I've heard people say not to use it and some people say to use it.
needhelpplease is offline  
Old 02-12-2004, 11:25 AM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

I don't think u would have fried up ur board even then .. i would still suspect the memory or for that matter even the harddrive

Anywayz give it a shot n' keep us posted
__________________

__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.