placing Windows Xp, or ME on hard drive

Status
Not open for further replies.

wes74

Solid State Member
I'm a newbie and don't know wat forum category this belongs under but im going to put it on both hardware and software and you can delete the one that is wrong.

anywayz onto my problem, i had a windows ME compaq computer that suddenly wouldn't start , it would get to the red logo compaq and quit, i tried to the Q/R cd's but they didnt' work,
I hooked up the old hard drive to an windows Xp hp computer(the one im on now) and want to reformat it and put either xp on it or windows ME back on it.
I've read many places how to do this but they all say you need the original cd that came with the computer, but i never got an original windows xp cd or a windows me with either computer
Is there some files that i can copy from xp to make a cd and burn it onto the hard drive or something, or is this impossible
thanx for the help
wes

You could make an image of your XP partition and copy it to the other drive. You could also copy the partition. you could experience trouble because you are using an operating system that comes out of another computer (other hardware etc) when placing it in your compaq.

You can use Ghost or Drive Image to make an image of the XP partition and copy it to the compaq drive.

Or use Partition Magic or Acronis' partition program to copy the entire partition.

Then place the HD in the Compaq and hope it works :D