A Place To list Vista Beta 2 Problem - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
View Poll Results: Do you reply to advice before you try it?
Yes 3 15.79%
Sometimes 8 42.11%
No 2 10.53%
Im to smart for advice! 6 31.58%
Voters: 19. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-12-2006, 01:07 PM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

Slow booting up and especially shutting down, although it is a beta version. Vista informs me that performance issues are due to driver issues.

No available audigy sound blaster driver for build 5384.4 yet. Using a Windows XP driver and although it works, the audio distrorts sometimes.

Explorer has crashed several times...but other than that, it's working okay .
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 01:47 PM   #12 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Re:

Quote:
Originally posted by Alvin.C
Hello,

Slow booting up and especially shutting down, although it is a beta version. Vista informs me that performance issues are due to driver issues.

No available audigy sound blaster driver for build 5384.4 yet. Using a Windows XP driver and although it works, the audio distrorts sometimes.

Explorer has crashed several times...but other than that, it's working okay .
I would gather its your sound drivers that are cusing the issue. Try uding the kX Project Drivers. This is what i use for sound with my Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS and it works fine.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 02:25 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to Carthjr
Default

i'm starting to believe that the fact that i have vista installed within VMware is causing my problems. the nvidia driver will not install and it is telling me that the OS system i am running is not windows vista

i can't quite figure this problem out
Carthjr is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 02:30 PM   #14 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

I'm going to try this one. I tried the vista x64 driver earlier. this one is made specific to beta 2

http://www.nvidia.com/object/winvista_x86_88.61.html
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 02:35 PM   #15 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

this one tell me that I'm not running vista. go figure
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 02:37 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

I really like Vista but yeah it has problems. it was always going to. My main problems are just within games though so its not too bad.
In COD2 i get kicked from Pb enabled servers with an error saying "inadequate O/S privileges" when i have admin rights. and in UT2004 my settings reset everytime it is loaded up which is a pain.
Mentali$T is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 02:45 PM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: Re: Re:

Quote:
Originally posted by Makaveli213
I would gather its your sound drivers that are cusing the issue. Try uding the kX Project Drivers. This is what i use for sound with my Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS and it works fine.
Thanks!
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 02:51 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to Carthjr
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by EricB
I'm going to try this one. I tried the vista x64 driver earlier. this one is made specific to beta 2

http://www.nvidia.com/object/winvista_x86_88.61.html
that's the exact one i used, and i'm having the EXACT same problem as you

at least i know i'm not alone in this...
Carthjr is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 03:34 PM   #19 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

I hooked my analog vga cord (I was using dv-I) up and restart the machine after installing the vista 64 bit drivers. I have a screen now. I going to unhook it to see if that was it.

it rebooted to the default 1280 X 1024 resolution, though
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 03:39 PM   #20 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

I hate it.

It doesnt co-operate on my system. It's probably because my system is underpowered for Vista.

Also drivers are hard to find. It's better to use a transformation pack with XP installed.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.