performance issue and aol - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-27-2005, 02:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 6
Default performance issue and aol

I am trying to help a friend with his computer, he told me it was having short freezing issues. When i found it has AOL I had a feeling this would be the cause.

Now what its doing is when a couple of applications are open it will quite frequently for intervals of about 15 to 20 seconds freeze, that is the mouse will stop moving. Now the thing is that this computer is very well maintained and rather new. 512MB, pentium 4 proccessor, fully updated and defraged.

I have 3 theories and I want your advice if you have experience with either of these circumstances.


1. AOL is the cause. It seems to always have things running in the backround. How can I tell if its taking too much memory? How can i diagnose if AOL is indeed the problem. And if so can i fix this or will I need to unistall aol entirely?

2. He has an optical mouse. Perhaps the freezing is really just the mouse freezing due to some signal failure? However no matter how close we put the recieving unit the problem still occurs. Also the problem only seems to occur 10 minutes or so after booting up when several things are going on. I noticed images really make this happen, so this mouse alternative i feel is unlikely.

3. Although the computer does have a lot of memory, perhaps its still not enough? How can i tell based on what he does with it?
He only uses it for running aol functions such as chatting and e-mailing and he sends images also.



Ok so thats it. If you can help at all please give me your opinion or a good way to diagnose. Thanks!
__________________

kevincompton is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 02:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Have you checked msconfig and see whats in the startup menu?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 02:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 6
Default

thats on my list of things to check, but i think its more than that. These problems occur well after start up.
kevincompton is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 03:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 45
Send a message via AIM to Redcoat
Default

Does this problem only happen when the user is connected to AOL?

Sounds like there are some programs running in the background that might be eating some resources.

Do a CTRL + ALT + DELETE and view the resources each process is using. You can normally pinpoint which app is hogging resources from there and deal with it appropriately.

Try run a spyware sweep with Webroot Spysweeper (free full demo can be downloaded at http://www.webroot.com )

Also visit http://housecall.trendmicro.com for a free virus/trojan sweep.
__________________
Jonathan C.
Redcoat is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 05:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 6
Default

he runs spyware regularly and aol has a spyware protection application also.


I'll try looking more closely on the task manager though. Anyone familiar with aol? I really think its some functions of theirs that are running this and i wonder if theres a way to customize it to make it run more quickly.
kevincompton is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 03:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Yes so i did the startup options and disabled some other needless xp functions but do to aol the pauses continue. Now he wont get rid of AOL so im wondering if theres a way to mod it or trim it down. Anyone know?
kevincompton is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 03:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby
Default

I would do an unintstall of AOL get a reg cleaner so its completely gone, then if he insists on using it re-install it. Once you have done the complete removal try it for a few hours to see if it fixes the problem. AOL is resourse hog but you should notice it that much.

It could be hardware or driver related too, what are the rest of the specs?
__________________

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 04:50 PM   #8 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by kevincompton
Yes so i did the startup options and disabled some other needless xp functions but do to aol the pauses continue. Now he wont get rid of AOL so im wondering if theres a way to mod it or trim it down. Anyone know?
disable the autostart from th aol icon. if you do it from misconfig aol will put another one back.

aol spyware isn't worth it's weight in ****e
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.